Serious Magic DVRack - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 28th, 2005, 01:21 PM   #91
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 607
I would think that since the Panasonic HDC27F can do it "in-camera" someone could write something to do it as you captured the footage to avoid re-rendering everything. Of course that ability may help explain some of the price of this camera and a stand alone program may not be cost effective to produce since there aren't that many people shooting DV with Ultra Primes.

Good question though.
Rhett Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2005, 01:36 PM   #92
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: new fairfield, CT
Posts: 65
yes Rhett, good point! i hadnt thought about the "in camera" route! it would be nice to have that as a feature on many of the Dv cameras (i use the canon xl1s myself) we are working with so we could be more creative with many other shots as well. (for example, shooting into a mirror for safety or effect you could dial in a horizontal or vertical flip and get a corrected image without rendering it in post. or a difficult camera position that would be easier to acheive if the camera were say mounted upside down would benefit from an in camera flip as well.) so it would be utilized by more people than just the adapter folks using 35mm lenses and could be a nice feature to have. (maybe canon can add that to their menu for me? <g>)

Marc
www.zenimage.com
__________________
www.zenimage.com
The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all....
Marc Sacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2005, 06:31 AM   #93
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Why would the footage need rendering *BEFORE* editing when
flipped? When you add footage to the timeline just flip it then.
You usually need rendering anyway (titles, effects, color correction,
letterboxing etc.) and a flip should barely add to the render time
(if you do it all in one go!)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2005, 09:02 AM   #94
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: new fairfield, CT
Posts: 65
Rob,
efficiency is the name of the game! when you are editing a short or feature or other long form project it is nice to be able to edit the rough cut without having to render anything. (thats how i work at least. i like to slap a rough cut together to see how its working and whats missing first and then begin to fine tune it until i need to add effects and color modifications and audio sweetening, etc.) yes, later when you add effects, color correction, etc it needs to be rendered and does take time and should be done in as few passes a possible. but i dont want to have to view upside down footage to determine which scenes i want to rough cut and i dont want to lay down all of my takes, add an image flip,export them to a new file, and re import them into my project just for a rough cut. it is very inefficient! if i am shooting with a 35mm adaptor and can flip a switch in camera to correct my image then i can import it into my NLE as correct footage and begin immediate editing. (or better yet, if my DV Rack flipped it before storing it then i could just begin editing in my NLE!)

thats all i want...oh and world peace too! <g>

marc
__________________
www.zenimage.com
The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all....
Marc Sacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 03:56 AM   #95
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Thanks for the explenation Marc! Makes sense, but I guess that's
the price your gonna have to pay for using such a "device". No
way around it, yet.....
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 07:30 AM   #96
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
DV Rack

Has anybody actually used this product and is it worth the money?

http://www.seriousmagic.com/dvrack.cfm
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 07:45 AM   #97
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Hugh: please do a search on "DV Rack" (see button in upper right
corner or link in my signature), it has been discussed often here
and lots of people are using it.

Thanks!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 07:46 AM   #98
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Rob! The search told me there were no matches! Any other key words I can use? I even tried "Serious Magic DV Rack".

DUHHH! Sorry, I typed the request in the wrong place. I found it!

DUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

This is Ron Burghundy, Good Night, San Diego!
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2005, 02:33 PM   #99
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Edison, NJ
Posts: 119
Vegas 5 and DV Rack ... Anyone tried it yet?

Just curious if anyone has used DV Rack and then dropped the files in Vegas? And if so, how do you like using DV Rack with a notebook as opposed to a field monitor?

http://www.seriousmagic.com/dvrack.cfm
Ray Sigmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2005, 02:53 PM   #100
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Independence MO.
Posts: 318
DV Rack Rebate

I noticed that Serious Magic has a new $200.00 rebate for DV Rack until the end of February.

I wonder if those who took advantage of the last rebate have received their rebates yet?

Danny Fye
__________________
www.dannyfye.com
Danny Fye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2005, 04:03 PM   #101
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: springfield, OH
Posts: 344
Yup, got mine after about two months. I was just starting to sweat about it when it came in the mail. I ended up getting the program for 200 bucks after the rebate :)
__________________
Tony

"Good taste is the enemy of creativity" - Picasso

Blog: http://www.tonyhall.name
Tony Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 05:40 AM   #102
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
I received mine too. Took a little longer than expected, but it finally arrived.

Ed
__________________
Ed Frazier
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 06:14 AM   #103
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Please do a search on DV Rack here to see how people like it with
laptops, that's been discussed often already.

Since DV Rack produces standard DV (AVI/Quicktime) files you can
use them in Vegas (5) just fine!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2005, 06:30 PM   #104
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 148
Still waiting on my mine as it was verified on 12/21/2004 and I received an email stating so I don't know why it is taking so long.
Hart Boyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 08:55 AM   #105
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 2,230
DV Rack Preview Quality?

Hello,

I have downloaded the DV Rack trail version and will install soon.

I just wanted to ask for some opinions regarding the use of the laptop screen as a preview monitor.


How does everbody like this?


I just purchased a laptop with a brightview screen so I have high hopes.

If this feature is as stated, then I can eliminate carrying a monitor which would be nice.

Thanks
Tim Polster is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network