Out of sync after import at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 26th, 2009, 02:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zonhoven
Posts: 153
Out of sync after import

Hi guys,
I have a problem. I have caputered a full tape from my Canon XHA1 in Adobe Premiere.
When I open the .mpeg in windows explorer with mediaplayer there is no problem.
But when I use it in Adobe Premiere or After Effects ... the audio goes out of sync
after some time.
Can anyone help me out with this one ? It's driving me crazy ! :(
Bart Wierzbicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 03:16 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
All versions of Premiere Pro exhibit some form problem with capturing HDV. Your best solution is to use the freeware HDVSplit, which does everything Adobe should have done ages ago, allow scene detection, give previews during capture and avoid out-of-sync (OOS) errors. History repeats itsself, just think back to the DV era when it took ages for Premiere to allow scene detection, when Scenalyzer had already offered this for years.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2009, 04:16 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Zonhoven
Posts: 153
Hi Harm ! I just downloaded HDVSplit.
IT WORKED !!! Yihaa ! You're the best !!!
I just can't understand why Adobe doesn't do something like that.
Do you also use the HDV Split for capturing or do you still capture first in Adobe Premiere and then run HDVSplit onto it ?
Bart Wierzbicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 02:45 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
I only capture with HDVSplit. I like the scene detection too much to even consider PR for that.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2009, 03:20 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arta, Greece
Posts: 342
Adobe's support on HDV capturing is not considered the best in the universe. I haven't captured HDV with Premiere since 2007, when I did my first HD wedding and spent some days to understand why the hell the videos were going out of sync at some point. What I learned back then had to do with the dropouts. There are DV dropouts that are either visible or not visible (you know, chess-like artifacts or spontaneous damaged pixels). In HDV though, due to compression, any damage by dropout was multiplied by 12 (if you have for example 2 frames of dropout in DV, in HDV it equals with 1 second!). Those dropouts, either small or large weren't detectable by Adobe. So, at every even tiny-tiny dropout, invisible to a normal DV footage, Premiere was losing sync. It was a nightmare.

Thank God I discovered Vegas back then (HDLink was constantly freezing on me) which detected every dropout and continued to a new file. It's sad to know that this hasn't ressolved yet in Premiere. Do they at least have preview now?
Dimitris Mantalias is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network