Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 19th, 2004, 03:43 PM   #16
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Horseshoe North Carolina
Posts: 17
Hi Ed,
Thanks for the reply.
1. Yes I am using firewire to go from computer to either VHS or DV tape in camera
2. I am not using any accelerators
3. Project lengths vary, usually 3- 15 miniutes
4. Does OK on the timeline
5. Not always same place, but always does it
6. Effects and transitions vary, but only does it when tranistions or effects are in place.
7. I usually use the preset project settings for DV-NTSC , Standard 48,000 KHz

Also:
1. Exports fine after changing it to it's own avi. file
2. I have 1 gig ram, 2.8 ghz clock speed, and plenty of space on all drives. I use a Sony Vaio, which came with firewire port and software for supporting firewire. I do not have a hardware supported (i.e. Matrox) firewire port.

Thanks in advance.

Richard

Has anyone seen my dropped frames? Last seen heading for Canada.
Richard Huff Webb is offline  
Old July 22nd, 2004, 09:20 AM   #17
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Richard,

Ummm, how odd.

What you can do is a simple crash record to your DV tape provided everything has been rendered on the timeline and you are using DV playback.

Steps:

Simply switch your camera to VTR mode (if not already)
Render timeline (If not already)
Set the Edit Line to the beginning of the project
Press Record on your camera
and then space bar (Play) in Pemiere
Once finished press stop.

Obviously this is not frame accrate, and it won't stop on its own. But its one way possibly to get your footage out straight from the timeline without creating 1 big AVI.

Cheers,

I saw your dropped frames in London the other day...Was it them?
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old November 8th, 2004, 04:26 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005

Wonder if anyone can help ?. I have a 10 minute film with an audio track of rock music. In premiere everything sounds great, but once I burn to a DVD and play it back the audio is all crackly and distorted. The sound is bad on the home DVD player and on the computer. Its not the volume on the computer as it sounds okay on the premiere playback, just goes bad once burned to a DVD

Thanks Guys
Andrew Paul is offline  
Old November 8th, 2004, 05:51 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Use the Audio mixer to see if you are clipping the audio. If you get anywhere in the red, the sound will be clipped. You may just want to reduce the audio level across the board.
Steven Gotz is offline  
Old November 9th, 2004, 05:22 AM   #20
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What audio codec did you use when encoding the audio for DVD?
Check the settings there as well.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 04:04 AM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 130
I checked the audio and it did reach the red, taking it down a few dB sorted it out. What gets me is why did it sound okay in the editor, but all distorted in the DVD playback. The other tunes (which where not so loaud !) played fine.

Thanks for the advise above, I`m a happy man now.
Andrew Paul is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 09:10 AM   #22
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
The reason lies in the way that different codecs handle the details over 0dB.

Most of the ones set up for use with DV just cut it off which sounds horrible, or worse yet, they wrap around and sound worse.

Just keep your audio under 0dB. In fact, you may find that -6dB makes your audio sound about the same as the television stations you watch. So when you switch between the TV and the DVD, you should not have to adjust the volume on the TV.
Steven Gotz is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 11:18 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
Are you using premiere pro by any chance - this has the annoying habit of converting everything to 32 bit to give you extra headroom when processing - but this could be a symptom of what happens when it's converted back into 16bit.

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 11:59 AM   #24
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Jonathan: this thread is in the Premiere forum, so he's probably
indeed using Premiere <g>
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 12:21 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
I said premiere pro, which is a lot different from all previous versions...hence the question.

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 05:11 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 130
Yes I am using the Pro version. Does pro have a bug that the others dont ?. It seems the obvious answer is to quieten the loud tracks down a bit. Not really something we should have to do after paying a good few hundred quid of my hard earned money.
Andrew Paul is offline  
Old November 10th, 2004, 06:10 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
The reason I was told for converting all the audio to 32bit with premiere pro was for better handling of audio effects, because in 32bit you can get another 96dB louder than you could with 16bit.

This is all very well but if you or I as a user aren't hearing the audio clipping as it would when playing out to dv then something's up with the design.

I'll do some tests...

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline  
Old November 11th, 2004, 08:17 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 130
I look forward to the results, as I`m sure others will.

Many Thanks
Andrew Paul is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 09:54 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 35
Serious Error - Anyone else get this?

Hello All,

I just wanted to see if anyone knows of a bug with PPro 1.0 and using the group function. I can group my audio and video no problem. But, I get a "serious error" when I try to ungroup. Then I am stuck with having to reboot and after that I still cannot ungroup.

Anyone have any suggestions? I tried searching here and on adobe's site. I may have to try technical support.

Thanks,
Ron
Ron Quizon is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 10:19 AM   #30
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
If I remember correctly there where much problems with 1.0, that's
why 1.5 came pretty quickly. I'm not sure if it is a free upgrade or
not (don't use it myself), but I would advise you to upgrade to 1.5.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network