Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 20 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2005, 06:25 PM   #286
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Are you absotively, posilutely certain that your EXPORT setting was 16:9? I've had no problem with 16:9 export in PPro.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old February 2nd, 2005, 06:58 PM   #287
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 86
Hey Pete,

I tried exporting the footage and it turned out fine but when I render my timeline, it plays back on my monitor in 4:3 and not 16:9. When I unclick the effects, the footage goes back to 16:9. It's very strange! Thanks for your help Pete.
Andrew Oh is offline  
Old February 4th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #288
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rockaway, NJ
Posts: 29
Flickering Windows in 24P project

We shot footage yesterday on the Panasonic DVX100A in 24PA mode and today after we imported to footage into Premiere Pro 1.5 in a 24p project the windows in the back of our shots are all flickering.

This is a first for us becuase this has never happened before. When we import the footage into a the Matrox DVCAM project, the windows do not flicker, but will it still be true 24p?

We are using a Dell Windows XP system with Premiere Pro 1.5 and the Matrox RTX 100 Extreme.

Does any one have any thoughts on this.

Thanks

Chris Vaglio
__________________
Sincerely,

Chris Vaglio
Director/Producer/Editor
Grey Sky Films
www.greyskyfilms.com
Chris Vaglio is offline  
Old February 4th, 2005, 06:07 PM   #289
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Hi Chris,

My first guess is that the windows in your background were bright enough to clip at 100IRE. There is a known issue with clipping and 24p in PPro. The linked thread described a problem similar to yours and contains links to Adobe's FAQ and the thread in the Adobe Forums that generated the FAQ:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=37100

If that isn't on the mark, let us know...I suppose it could be something to do with the Matrox hardware, but I don't happen to use any Matrox stuff so can't say help with that.

Cheers,
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 09:24 AM   #290
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 50
What are the effects you are applying?
__________________
-Billy
Billy Dalrymple is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 11:50 AM   #291
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 50
I only use uncompressed while editing because I dont have to worry about any recompression loss. It is slower and it does consume enormous amounts of disk space.

Before comitting to uncompressed I would find my self getting "stuck" with an unacceptable video quality on a piece that I had spent days on and the only way to fix it was to redo most of it using uncompressed... Now I always go uncompressed.

You're looking at about 1.5 gig of hard drive space for every minute of footage. but with 250 gig HDs going for under $200 thats a small price to pay for a higher quality end result.
__________________
-Billy
Billy Dalrymple is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 12:48 PM   #292
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 170
Frame export

Hey guys, I was wondering if there is any way I can export an .avi clip 24p in image batches like .tiff composition in Premier Pro 1.5 ?

Thanks
Dmitry Yun is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 12:56 PM   #293
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 75
keyframes out of sync.

I had a corrupt AVI file on one of my projects. I thought, no problem. I'll just go back to the tape and recapture the footage.
Now using my recaptured footage my keyframes are out of sync. Not much, maybe 10-15 frames out of whack. I probably started recording a few frames earlier than the original capture.
I was under the impression that Premiere used the timecode to link up the original project file and the AVI file. Is this not the case? Is there an easy way to fix this without going through the entire thing and moving the individual keyframes?
Thanks
Cliff
Cliff Hepburn is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 01:11 PM   #294
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
If you do File> Export> Movie
then select settings. Then from the file type drop down menu you can choose various picture formats (Win BMP, GIF, TGA, Tiff). (Make sure that the frame size and frame rate is set correctly)

Remember though that it exports each frame of the movie into individual pictures - This can take up quite a lot of space on your HD.

Hope this helps,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 04:07 PM   #295
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 328
Are there any codecs that are transparant with regards to re rendering and putting effects on dv. Im looking for a bit more info
Ben Gurvich is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 04:33 PM   #296
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 607
One River Media has a bunch of information about video codecs. You should also dig around at Adam Wilt's site as well because he has a collection of articles and links you could spend months reading.
I haven't seen much really current information out there lately. Everything seems to be about 5-7 years old which is terrible because we have come so far in that time.
Dmitry Gromov had a site (offline) with a really decent comparison on it actually showing the generation losses but it's been offline for quite a while. I have it archived on my computer if anyone wants it. I offered it to Adam Wilt (because he refers to it on his own site) but because it is not his own work, he rightfully declined. If anyone knows Dmitry, you might ask him if it is still relevant and if he wants it reposted on Geocities (where it was originally).

As far as an excellent uncompressed codec, Microcosm is a very fine way to go. You can buy it here.
Rhett Allen is offline  
Old February 7th, 2005, 04:35 PM   #297
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 170
Thanks

That was very helpful thanks Ed :)
Dmitry Yun is offline  
Old February 8th, 2005, 06:14 AM   #298
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'd say do it manually and be done with it. Will save you more time
in the end probably. I have no answer as to why this may have
happened...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old February 8th, 2005, 07:01 AM   #299
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
Premeire Pro cannot convert 60i to 24p?

In Vegas I can render out decent looking 24p but in Premeire Pro the video does not play properly. It just flickers on and off.

Any help from anyone who works this way?
Greg Jacobson is offline  
Old February 8th, 2005, 07:13 AM   #300
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Have you enabled the "remove/reduce interlace flicker" option?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network