Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 28 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2005, 07:48 PM   #406
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Waterloo Ontario
Posts: 721
It's no so bad ... just a pain in the butt.

When you click on an element in the timeline to activate the effect controls window, you now have an incredible amount of precision over the motion, opacity etc. But try to view the last keyframe of the item in the monitor window when you drag the control slider in the effect controls window all the way to the right. The image of the element you are adjusting disappears!!!

Give it a try and report back if this occurs to you also...
Jimmy McKenzie is offline  
Old February 22nd, 2005, 07:51 PM   #407
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
I'll try it and try to remember that so I don't freak out. Thanks.
Jay Stevens is offline  
Old February 22nd, 2005, 08:55 PM   #408
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
Hey Jimmy, do you know of anyplace to get a cd with free movie background music. I remember a guy told me his background music for his movie and trailer (which was really great moody music) was something he ordered for free from somewhere. I'd love to know where to find that kind of stuff. Thank you.

Jay
Jay Stevens is offline  
Old February 22nd, 2005, 09:30 PM   #409
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
PROBLEM SOLVED!!!! Went to adobe forum and found others had same issue. Adobe replied to someone with:

1. Make effects a separate window (drag from program window if layered there).
2. Enlarge the effects window to a longer size and save your program as it is.
3. Close the program and reopen it.

Now it should be a scroll up/down in the window.

*This is what Jimmy described I believe, but I thought I would describe what to do by making the window bigger.
Jay Stevens is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 03:57 AM   #410
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Resizing/resampling/rescaling end results largely depends on the
algorithms being used and in what way you are looking at the
end result (you still haven't answered that one).

Don't expect the preview screen to look good for example. Render
out to full DV or uncompressed and watch that on a TV for example.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 04:36 AM   #411
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: manila, philippines
Posts: 102
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : Resizing/resampling/rescaling end results largely depends on the
algorithms being used and in what way you are looking at the
end result (you still haven't answered that one).

Don't expect the preview screen to look good for example. Render
out to full DV or uncompressed and watch that on a TV for example. -->>>

thanks

the problem was mostly jagged diagonal outline on high contrast areas. the reason why i din't notice the problem was because i was looking at the preview monitor only at the time (it was only for the purpose of rushes). when i previewed on tv it was obvious.

after i tried it again, the problem disappeared.
Mo Zee is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 04:47 AM   #412
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It sounds like you have a field issue indeed. Did you shoot in a
progressive/frame mode or in interlaced? Make SURE your project
settings match the mode you shot in!!! Also make SURE your
export settings use the same mode AS WELL!!!!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 05:51 AM   #413
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Waterloo Ontario
Posts: 721
Wow ... thanks for the tip in the effects window.

As for my music, I rely on an extensive library of royalty free tracks from 3 suppliers.
Commercial music only enters in when I get a license from the owner/publisher.
Jimmy McKenzie is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 07:15 AM   #414
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Andover, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 12
Thanks Guys,

Am now seriously considering buying the "Matrox RT.X100 Xtreme Pro Suite Editing Workstation " from Planet DV - its about 2000, but, if I upgrade my existing PC (which is now 4 years old), and then buy the matrix card (RT.1000 for 786) to go with it, I'll probably end up spending more than that anyway.

Time to consult the friendly bank manager..... :-(

Richard.
Richard Hardiman is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 07:32 AM   #415
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Andover, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 12
Excuse this if it is a stupid question, but what exactly does the Matrox RTX.10's and RTX.100's cards actually do.

I have just brought a canon Xm2, and am now after the software to go with it.
Ive pretty much settled on premiere pro 1.5, and, after searching through various posts, have been thinking about purchasing the Matrox RTX.100, which comes with the 3 adobe products bundled.

But, Im now wondering whether its worth just buying premiere pro on its own (as im not sure whether i really need audition and encore), and wonder whether it would work fine with just my firewire card (I know I will need to upgrade some parts of my PC).

So, am just wondering what the matrox cards actually do...... ?

Any advice/comments, always welcome :-)

Cheers,
Richard.
Richard Hardiman is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 08:43 AM   #416
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
The Matrox RT.X100 will give you true real-time editing and output to DV (and a TV monitor) for certain effects, like dissolves, titles, color correction, soft focus filter, Pleasantville effect (the image is black and white with only one color showing), and others. Of course, there are limitations to the amount of effects that can be applied and played back in real-time.

The RT.X100 can also capture or output MPEG-2 in real-time for burning to DVD in a program like Adobe Encore DVD. As well, the RT.X100 accelerates rendering to RealMedia and Windows Media formats.

It also gives you the ability to view your work on a TV monitor directly from within Adobe Photoshop, Adobe After Effects, and Adobe Encore DVD.

If you're thinking of a software/hardware combo, you should also check out the Canopus DVStorm2. I had my reasons for going with the Matrox, but your preferences may be different.

Canopus DVStorm 2
http://www.canopus.us/US/products/DV...orm_2_pro+.asp

Matrox RT.X100
http://www.matrox.com/video/products...mepro/home.cfm

If you do go with a software/hardware combo, make sure you follow the editing card manufacturer's recommended computer system specs exactly.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 09:50 AM   #417
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 804
Rob,
The footage is interlaced. When tried de interlace option, the jitter transformed to a "mess" between lines.
Did you flip/rotate footage CLEAN in Premiere6?
Was it on tape as 29.976 (30)?
All the setting match here.
Dan Diaconu is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 09:51 AM   #418
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Andover, Hampshire, UK
Posts: 12
Many Thanks Christopher,

Answers my question !!

Cheers,
Richard.
Richard Hardiman is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 10:04 AM   #419
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
Where can I get the royalty free music and who are the 3 suppliers? Thank you.
Jay Stevens is offline  
Old February 23rd, 2005, 10:21 AM   #420
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Waterloo Ontario
Posts: 721
Google will get you your results. There are several to choose from. Nightingale, turner etc....
Jimmy McKenzie is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network