Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 35 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2005, 03:24 PM   #511
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Color Finesse is very good for matching cameras from what I've seen of it. About $600USD.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 06:33 PM   #512
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 99
I'm not trying to be funny here, but did you put the XL in VCR mode? Some times it's the simple things that bite us.

Dan
__________________
Wow! That thing must have cost an arm and a leg! - - - It did! I used to have three of each.
Dan Mumford is offline  
Old March 10th, 2005, 11:56 PM   #513
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 429
2 Questions about the Premiere timeline/video tracks

Hi there

I am using Premiere 6.0. I have two simple questions....

I have two video tracks for an interview. Video track 1 is the full uninterupted video of the interviewee. Video 2 is the video of the interviewer, broken up in clips for only when he is asking questions.

I have to:
1) now add video effects to all the clips in video 2. There are a lot of clips. Is there a way to add the same video effect (just like a brightness & contract adjustment) to them all at the same time?

2) I want two add two emtpy video tracks Between video 1 and 2, so I can add an effect onto video 1. Is there a way to do this, or do I have to move all the clips in Video 2 up, manually, one at a time?

Thanks.
Ronald Lee is offline  
Old March 11th, 2005, 04:31 AM   #514
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Ronald,

1) You can copy and paste effects from 1 clip to another. Simply right click on your first clip with the effect, then choose copy. Then right click on your second clip, and choose paste attributes. Another dialog will appear asking what attributes you wish to paste. Of the top of my head I think that effects is an option, so choose that.

2) First add your 2 more video tracks. Then use the group tool, select your clips in track 2 and then click and drag them to track 4.

I don't have Premiere 6 in front of me at the moment, but from memory I think thats how to do it.

Hope this helps,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old March 11th, 2005, 05:31 AM   #515
Capt. Quirk
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Middle of the woods in Georgia
Posts: 3,596
Ed's pretty much dead-on. In a situation where you have to add effects to clips, it is easier to do it to the entire clip, then cut it up, rather than cut and paste to 50 smaller chunks.
__________________
www.SmokeWagonLeather.us
K. Forman is offline  
Old March 11th, 2005, 09:46 AM   #516
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Yes, it is in VCR mode. I should also point out some other things I've noticed since yesterday. I tried it with my Dad's GL2, and I had the exact same problem. However, I downloaded a dedicated capturing program (Scenalyzer 2.1), and that works, which seems to pretty strongly imply a Premiere problem rather than a FireWire problem or a camera problem.
John Rowan is offline  
Old March 11th, 2005, 07:46 PM   #517
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 429
How to show/burn timecode in Premiere?

Hi there,

I'm on Premiere 6.0

Is there a simple way to show the timecode of some video you are editing, burned into the video? Perhaps in the bottom of the video, where the bottom black bar is (for widescreen video)?

This would help with editing and getting our EDL for out online masters.

Premiere will just read whatever timecode is on the source video, correct and automatically put together the EDL that represents your project file?

thanks.
Ronald Lee is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 04:27 AM   #518
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
From memory you can paste all the effects that you've copied to multiple clips - selected using the dotted rectangle tool.

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 06:42 AM   #519
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
As far as I am aware Premiere does not support burnt in timecode (BITC). I remember there being a work around/ plug in that someody produced, But I don't know where it is...

Try a search for BITC or burnt in Timecode.

The only machine that I am aware that does BITC in real-time and does it extremely well is a Lightworks Touch. But then again you are looking at aboout 16,000 for one...
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 07:05 AM   #520
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Sony Vegas (another NLE) can do it as well, it is kinda real-time.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 08:34 AM   #521
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 3,840
Avid
Richard Alvarez is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 04:01 PM   #522
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Trimmed project

I was wondering, when I run the project trimmer out of the project manager, will it render out the new avi's without audio if I do not use the audio in the sequence? Or will it render out the audio if I originaly captured the audio regardless if I use it or not? If so, is there a way to render out the new avi's without the original sound?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 05:16 PM   #523
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 185
Timecode Frame Generator

Perhaps this timecode frame generator would be of some use?
David Yuen is offline  
Old March 12th, 2005, 11:51 PM   #524
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 75
Output to DVD looks bad on TV

I hook the gl2 up to the tv... no edginess, no blurring.... just great footage.

I edit in premiere 1.5 and export to dvd... now have blurry movement and edgy lines. Set to high quality, 2 pass, 720x480, 4mb.

What in the world is the problem? I thought from an earlier post it might have been the lighting but now after plugging straight from camera to tv i know it can't be that.

It's something to do with software, but what?

Any info from anyone with the same experience and how to fix this would be great!!!

Thanks
Jay Stevens is offline  
Old March 13th, 2005, 03:06 AM   #525
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 145
Any time you compress video, you're going to lose quality. Try playing around with your export settings a little bit. I've had good results by doing the VBR 7mb 2-pass encoding, but try changing settings and find the results which work best for you.
Brent Ray is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network