Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 52 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2005, 08:33 AM   #766
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 19
Premiere 6.5 works in PPro?

Hi everyone.

I have a system running premiere 6.5 and am about to upgrade to Premiere pro 1.5.
My question is, can my old projects ive saved on my video drive in 6.5 be recognized in premiere pro?

If so - can i continue to edit them in pro 1.5?

Thanx :)
Nathan Taylor is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 10:31 AM   #767
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Yes, you can open your old projects in Premiere Pro. It will convert them to the new project format, and you will then be able to continue editing them.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 10:35 AM   #768
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
The project manager was present in Premiere 6 and 6.5. I don't know if it was in earlier versions. When Premiere Pro was rewritten from the ground up it wasn't included in version 1, but came back with more features than the earlier project manager in Premiere Pro 1.5. It's a very handy feature, I must say.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 10:38 AM   #769
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Robert, I answered your post in the "Non-linear DV Editing on the PC" section. Please post in only one section. It makes it easier for everyone to keep track of the replies. Thanks!
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 12:36 PM   #770
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
Also, some of the effects have now changed in PPro, but there's backwards compatibility.

However, when changing from 6 to PPro, I realized that some video effects wouldn't work properly. But I would say 95% do.
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 01:04 PM   #771
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
advanced color correction in PPro

Does anyone know how to adjust the color by tonal range?

That is, choose yellows (or whatever) and adjust their hue/saturation?

I know there is control for shadows/midtones/highlights but I haven't found a way to adjust by tone - pretty much like Photoshop does.
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 01:17 PM   #772
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 50
I don't work with Premiere Pro, but I don't think PPro has secondary color correction.
You can use plugins like Color Finesse.
Johan Manders is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 03:37 PM   #773
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 242
I don't believe Adobe Premiere has these capabilities yet.

If I remember correctly only Quicktime Pro allows you to do this. Since Final Cut is based on Quicktime - you might also be able to do it through Final Cut as well - but don't hold me to that.
__________________
Brandon Greenlee
Brandon Greenlee is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 04:04 PM   #774
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Premiere Pro can do it if you choose QuickTime as the format, at which point you can pick MPEG-4 as the codec. I don't know if this is possible in Premiere 6.5. My suggestion is to check your export options.

Just a word of warning. The QuickTime MPEG-4 codec is not very good. I ended up using Nero Recode (part of the Nero 6 suite), which did a much better job. It's close to the quality of the Sorenson MPEG-4 codec. The drawback is that the file Nero Recode creates can't be streamed.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 05:17 PM   #775
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Cecotka
Hello,

How can I create mgeg4 or 2 with MP3 sound track with Adobe 6.5
you are trying to do this in order to upload a vid clip to the new google video search engine... afaik, it ain't gonna happen, because that combo of formats is not legal anywhere, so the software programs won't allow it.

imho, those silly requirements are a major boondoggle for google... i spent several hours hacking thru procoder, sorenson squeeze 4, quicktime, womble, etc., and none of 'em would output what google wants.

if you know of another program that will combine those formats without re-encoding anything, please post it.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 05:22 PM   #776
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Gotz
Sure! It is called "Adobe After Effects".

Seriously, there may be third party plugins, but I have not seen any for the effect you require.
I have Adobe After Effects, but it has a steep learning curve and I haven't had the time to learn it yet. Also, Adobe After Effects is not a third party plugin.
Glen Chua is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 05:29 PM   #777
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Effects

Borris FX and Graphiti have some cool plug in text effects and AE has some good text effects built in now. One thing we have found very usefull and I dont know if many people realize you can do this but in Premeire pro you can apply most all transitions and effects to titles. So yes it is possible to make titles like that in Premeire useing key frames and transitions like stretch in and others, I have even used matrox old movie effect on titles for easy motion effects. Just gotta get creative and it takes a little time, but it sure beats having to go to AE.

Hope that helps.
Cory Fehl is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 06:52 PM   #778
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
if you know of another program that will combine those formats without re-encoding anything, please post it.
Check out mp4UI (http://mp4ui.sourceforge.net) and GPAC (http://gpac.sourceforge.net/index.php). One or the other might be able to do that.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 07:22 PM   #779
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 53
Dan,

Yes it's for google
it looks like you did all hard work

I'm going to contact google directly.

Christopher,

I downloaded mp4UI (http://mp4ui.sourceforge.net) but I can't open avi file just mpeg4 format.

Thanks for all clues
Mike
Mike Cecotka is offline  
Old April 27th, 2005, 08:14 PM   #780
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I was kidding - note the "Seriously" beginning the next section. After Effects is better than any simple plugin.

In After Effects 6.5 they included text presets for animations. You type in the text directly into the comp window, and assign a preset. The presets are all on the help file, in full motion.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network