Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 61 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 12th, 2005, 12:08 PM   #901
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 11
Aaron: this is a known issue w/ PPro 1.5. In 1.0, 24p could be interpreted as 29.97 with no issues. However in 1.5, like you mentioned, regardless of project settings, it will always look for the 24p flag, and subsuquently there is no way to render the footage as 29.97.

There are a few known glitches with the 24p setting,s and i have encountered this one as well, being a DVX user. The other big issue is strobing, have you noticed any? Look at the dark areas of your letterboxed version and see if you see the blacks fluttering. You probably will. One way to get around this issue (or at least cut it off a little bit) is to apply the broadcast safe effect and set it to 100 IRE, helps a bit. Again, this isnt an issue when exporting to mpeg2 or anything else, just going back to tape from my experience and what i understand.

Now, regarding the audio issue, I also have experienced this, on multiple projects and on multiple computers. The probably may lie where you said, but the other probably solution to all this, which i will be trying on my next export, is to lower the audio gain for the entire track -3db or so. I suspect, based on when my glitches occur, that the full gain signal combined with 24p acting like you suggested could be the issue. So, given that letterboxing reduces the artifacting, that combined with a slightly lowered top ed on the audio may yield a suitable full res backup. When reimporting into an NLE, just boost the gain 3db. Its not a best case scenario, but it will have to work given Adobe's shoddy 24p implementation.

Take a look at adobes forums for a more in depth discussion about it - theyre fuming over there.

Adobe really needs to kick it up a notch if they intend to be a contender. Here is one person hoping that the macromedia acquisition will yield better end user interaction, and actually posting bug fixes instead of waiting for major releases (which is what adobe almost always does).
Jeff dePascale is offline  
Old May 12th, 2005, 10:42 PM   #902
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Yep. Here's an old thread about it:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=36753

and a link to a page on my personal web site where I fiddled with 24p problems a little:

http://www.geosynchrony.com/scratchpad.htm (scroll down the page a bit for the 24pA Anomaly paragraph)

One of these days I'll find some spare time and try to learn more about what's really going on. For now, those two links pretty much cover what I know about the subject, though.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 01:09 AM   #903
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: austin, tx
Posts: 11
jeff,

i just screened my production tonight in a local theatre and i didn't notice the strobing in the 4:3 letterboxed export...LUCKILY. i really do hope premiere releases a patch soon, cos i am liking it save for these glitches we've all been experiencing.

as for the audio glitches, the weird thing was that the audio artifacts were there even when i cleared the audio tracks! (with or without an audio track, the glitches were there and in the same places!)

in the meantime, it seems that i can keep the same workflow for my 24p projects, assuming i can use premiere 6.5 to re-render 29.97 and lose the 24p flags. we'll see...

aaron
Aaron Dixon is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 10:57 AM   #904
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
if hes sweaty, so be it.. that was him AT THAT TIME.. youre being honest...

i think a bleach bypass would help, enriched balck and whites using a colour curve, with a cut in saturation would aleviate the warm look (mind u i havent seen the footage so i cant say) but apart from that, theres not much u can do.. .
I mena you might be able to get a soft focus filter happening, but thats so cheesy its quite sad..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old May 13th, 2005, 03:31 PM   #905
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Shaun,

If you are able to post a couple of good quality frame grabs or a short hi-rez video clip to a web site, it may help folks come up with an idea that might work for you.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline  
Old May 14th, 2005, 04:22 AM   #906
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
problem with premiere pro 7.0

I've got a problem with premiere pro 7.0 when viewing DV files (both inported or captured), they are displayed like a chequered flag ...
The same files don't have any problems with premiere 6.5.
Do you know where's the prob?

thanks a lot

Danilo
Danilo Pahor is offline  
Old May 14th, 2005, 08:32 PM   #907
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
the solution thus far

well, since no one seems to be able to help us, let me share what i've discovered thus far...

after several days and hours on the phone with a very nice tech specialist at Adobe, we've been able to find a workaround. (this issue by the way, has been escalated to their research and development dept and is now being handled by their engineers. so if nothing else, we can feel special that our little problem is a reall brain teaser, even for Adobe!) ;-) in any case, the problem seems to be that in some configurations, Premiere isn't reading the 24p headers properly and plays the clips at 29.97 rather than 23.976. this flaw also screws the interleave for the audio, hence choppy audio or no audio at all. the fix from Adobe is to force Premiere to process the 24p pull-up by going into "Playback Settings" and selecting "Repeat Frame: ABBCD" rather than the default "Interlaced FRame." after hours of testing and configs, this was the one and only solution Adobe could find, and it works. my 24p footage plays out to my camera properly with clean picture and sound. upgrading to SP2 did help resolve some of the issues i had, but adjusting the playback settings as above was the trick. after days on the phone with Adobe i'm skipping over a lot, but hope what i posted here helps anyone in a similar bind. good luck!!
Bob Feldman is offline  
Old May 15th, 2005, 11:52 AM   #908
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
What are the properties of your video? How was it captures?
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline  
Old May 15th, 2005, 10:50 PM   #909
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: baltimore
Posts: 31
where is this on lynda.com?
Joe Mobic is offline  
Old May 15th, 2005, 11:00 PM   #910
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
http://movielibrary.lynda.com/html/modPage.asp?ID=129
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline  
Old May 16th, 2005, 01:51 AM   #911
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: baltimore
Posts: 31
Mic is present in very top of frame

My footage has the tip of the mic showing at the top of the frame.....maybe 5% or less the total frame (but just at the top edge). I see this both of the camcorder GL-2 LCD screen as well as the Capture screen. What can I do to eliminate it. Is there a border I can add to the top or something to get it out?

another problem I've noticed on some of my footage is that on my GL-2 camcorder LCD screen, i don't see the MIC, but on the adobe capture screen, I do see it. how does this affect the final result....is it what is seen on the capture screen or the LCD screen that counts?

Last edited by Joe Mobic; May 16th, 2005 at 02:13 AM.
Joe Mobic is offline  
Old May 16th, 2005, 03:28 AM   #912
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Joe,

The mic is probably in the 'safe-area' this should not be seen on a normal TV, but is when editing with a computer or when exporting to a video file (AVI, MPG etc). Just to check to see if it is in the safe area you can put a guide up on the Premiere preview monitor. I would also suggest hooking up a TV just to check that you can't see it.

The mic is in the picture then you can either crop the footage, or maybe add letter boxing to your project which will then mask the mic out.

Hope this helps a little,
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline  
Old May 16th, 2005, 03:38 AM   #913
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Hi Joe, as Ed said, basically the GL2 monitor overscans, which means you just can't see the entire frame. You have to get used to how far above the LCD the mic has to be to be out of shot. You could letterbox and that would help.

If the shot you're doing is a locked off camera, you might be able to take a piece of static area where the mic wasn't in frame, and place it over the mic when it's in frame.

I use this to hide dropouts and it works reasonably well.

Aaron
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline  
Old May 16th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #914
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 18
Any Good Premiere Pro 1.5.1 Books?

Has anyone seen yet any good books that cover 1.5.1?

Obviously, what I am most interested in here is the new HDV capabilities.

Thanks,

David
David Schamis is offline  
Old May 16th, 2005, 02:21 PM   #915
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
At the moment, I don't think there are specific books geared towards editing HDV in Premiere Pro. However, I would reccomend checking out Steven's HDV page: http://www.stevengotz.com
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network