Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2005 - Page 67 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 3rd, 2005, 04:55 AM   #991
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There are various extensions for mpeg-2, like:

- .mpg / .mpeg
- .m2v
- .m2t

.mpg / .mpeg usually are program streams, meaning they have both audio
and video in them. As Christopher explained the .m2v is just the video file
(since with DVD encoding the audio usually is a seperate file in AC3 form!)
and .m2t is a transport stream (kinda like a program stream).

The final form you have is .VOB on DVD. This is just an mpeg-2 transport
stream with a different extension for DVD. Nothing fancy about it.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old June 3rd, 2005, 08:04 AM   #992
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Correction for clip shot with backlight on

Thanks Guys
After trying all you said looks like I'll have to reshoot the clip. Thanks again for your replies.

Harry
Harry Lender is offline  
Old June 3rd, 2005, 12:06 PM   #993
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
Render Burnt In Timecode

It's ironic that something that has the word 'Pro' in it's title has the inability to render out burnt-in-timecode on the footage, but if you weren't aware there is a $20 plug in that seems to do exactly what most people want. I downloaded the trial and it renders the timecode in the clip and the timecode of where the clip is located on the project timeline. Think I'll be buying this tonight. But I just wanted to share what I found in case someone else was trying to do this too with PPro.

http://dve.teletex.ru/en/dvrecdate.shtml
John McGinley is offline  
Old June 3rd, 2005, 12:27 PM   #994
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Eddie Lotter has a free utility that will generate timecode. You can get it at http://www.2writers.com/download.htm.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 01:13 AM   #995
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Ok that makes a little more sense. Except I will have to go back and double check to see if they had audio on te m2v ones. Thanks.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 06:14 AM   #996
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chino Hills Ca
Posts: 19
Thanks for the help guys.
Al Ioimo is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 08:17 AM   #997
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 235
Premiere Pro 1.5 Trial, is it same as full version?

hi all,

just got my new pc & keen to try premiere pro 1.5. i just finished filming a wedding & would like to try premiere to edit it with & looking to purchase if i find the workflow good.

i realise it only 1 month for the trial but is there any feature or saving capabilities disabled in the trial? i'd like to edit my whole wedding video to get right into the good & bad features of premiere to find if its suitable but dont want to start editing & not be able to export, save, etc...

thank you....
James Darren is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 02:22 PM   #998
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
The trial version does not include the Adobe Media Encoder, which is required to create DVDs and other compressed formats.
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 07:33 PM   #999
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
If I were you, buy the boxed version. this trial does not have the "go to adobe to buy" thing after the trial ends, instead just a box to make the software completely unusable. so in a sense, NO, IT IS NOT THE SAME! Uninstall it immediatly!
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 09:00 PM   #1000
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarav Sareen
The trial version does not include the Adobe Media Encoder, which is required to create DVDs and other compressed formats.
ok but i can still export as an .avi file then use another program like tmpgenc to encode to dvd?
James Darren is offline  
Old June 4th, 2005, 10:53 PM   #1001
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Darren
ok but i can still export as an .avi file then use another program like tmpgenc to encode to dvd?
Yes, you can. Download Adobe Encore DVD to transcode your AVI file to MPEG2.
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline  
Old June 5th, 2005, 01:28 AM   #1002
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 70
PPro DVD export

What are the best settings to use when exporting direct to DVD with Preimere Pro 1.5. I am exporting 45 minutes clips shot with GL2.
Thank you
__________________
Thanks for your help everyone.
Thomas Fraser is offline  
Old June 5th, 2005, 11:36 AM   #1003
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 99
Thomas,

I've never used PPro to do DVD, so I might not be able to help you. However, I do a lot of DVD using PPro to create my movie, then use Encore to make the actual DVD. I export to .avi from PPro for two reasons. One is to have an avi copy I can send back to tape for a back-up. Second is to let Encore do tha actual transcoding. I say Encore because I have the Adobe Collection, but you can use any DVD program. I know this doesn't answer your question, but it does show you a different option.

Dan
__________________
Wow! That thing must have cost an arm and a leg! - - - It did! I used to have three of each.
Dan Mumford is offline  
Old June 6th, 2005, 02:12 PM   #1004
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Erie, PA USA
Posts: 43
I use the PPro 1.5 and Encore combo too Thomas. Do you have Encore or another DVD authoring program?
__________________
I will be in Sundance 18-30th - if you'll be there drop me a line and come see my movie HUNTING CAMP! (click below)
John C. Lyons is offline  
Old June 6th, 2005, 05:37 PM   #1005
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Zion IL.
Posts: 10
Glow effect in Premiere Pro 1.5

I have a title that I would like to put a glow effect on. Is there a way to do that in the title designer in Premiere Pro 1.5? What I mean by glow is an area of color that follows the outside of the title but is feathered so that the farther out from the edge of the title you go the fainter the color is. I hope that makes sense.

Nate
__________________
Nothing = That which rocks dream about.
Nathaniel Sisson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network