We Go Back at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 2nd, 2009, 02:13 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 210
Premiere Pro Lags

Premiere and I go back pretty far, so I'm naturally feeling a little strange considering jumping ship to the Mac world and Final Cut. I'm running an editing box I built, 2.8 GIG Quad Core, 8GB RAM on Vista 64. I'm using the Creative Suite 4.

Been finishing up a film I shot using an AVCHD camera, and have noticed some pretty significant slowdown. After Effects doesn't like to play very much either, slowing down during preview render, lagging out at times. Trying to decide if A) a Mac Pro is the way to go, B) Upgrading to a new PC with better components is better, or C) identify if I'm just doing something wrong to cause bottlenecks. I'd love to stay with Adobe, as I'm entirely familiar with it. But the slowdowns and occasional crashes are becoming cumbersome. Also, I'm exporting my film (1h45min) and I'm experiencing about an 18-24 hour encode time. Is that normal? Taking over 6 hours to just load into Encoder after hitting "go!" ? I've not yet worked with a project this size so I'm not sure if my concerns are justified or not. Any comment will be helpful in understanding.
__________________
"Make the most of yourself, for that is all there is of you." R W Emerson
RED ONE MX | 5DmkIII | SD744T | SD442 | Sennheiser MKH416 P48

Last edited by Brian Maurer; September 2nd, 2009 at 04:11 PM.
Brian Maurer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2009, 05:18 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brno Czech Republic
Posts: 453
Premiere cannot be trusted with projects this large. That's a sad fact of life, learned the hard way. You will have tough time with AVCHD in FCP as well (transcoding to ProRes is really helpful), but it's much more stabl, especially on larger projects.
Jiri Fiala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2009, 06:18 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
seems your config is a bit out of sync.
" I'm running an editing box I built, 2.8 GIG Quad Core"
2.8 quad core is slow, you would better had a 3.2 core2duo overclocked at 3.8
Ram speed here is also very important , nothing less than DDR2 at 1066.

"8GB RAM on Vista 64. I'm using the Creative Suite 4. "
CS4 is pretty slow, and i doubt Vista even on 64 will help.
Try an upgrade to win7.

"Been finishing up a film I shot using an AVCHD camera"
AVCHD is the hell, but nothing oblige you to stick to this format.
You can either convert to faster codec like cineform or use accelerator (like CUDA).
Cuda will require a high end nvidia card and a software.
this one DIVIDE FRAME: Software solutions for the broadcast industry is pretty recent but seems to work.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network