DV Rack Announcements - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2006, 06:52 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
So, I want to order Upgrade from DV Rack (with HDV PowerPak) to DV Rack 2.0 HD, but says I cant order, so how can there be a date of order before 9/30?

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2006, 12:05 AM   #17
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 68
We hit a snag at the last minute that prevented us from posting DV Rack HD 2.0 today. It should be available tomorrow.
__________________
Mark Mapes
OnLocation QA Manager, Adobe Systems
Mark Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2006, 02:34 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Just tried again, and worked great. Will try to load it tonight.

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2006, 03:16 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 27
Mark,

This looks like a great release.

What formats and frame rates will you be able to capture with the JVC GY-HD250?

Is there plans for HDSDI capture thru express54?

thanks,

Keith
__________________
Keith Nealy
Productions
Keith Nealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 01:58 AM   #20
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 106
DV Rack 2.0 now available

Hi Everyone,

DV Rack 2.0 is now shipping, and in 2 flavors:

DV Rack 2.0 SD supports standard-def DV cameras.

DV Rack 2.0 HD supports DV, HDV, DVCPro50, and DVCProHD cameras.

The list of new features is way too long to list here - Check www.seriousmagic.com for a complete list of new features.

We also shipped a new product - the DVCProHD Decoder, which enables Windows applications like Premiere Pro 2 and Sony Vegas to read DVCProHD video.
__________________
Karl Soule'
Product Marketing Manager, Serious Magic Professional Products Group.
ksoule@seriousmagic.com
Karl Soule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 06:52 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
Karl,

Thanks.

It says " The Field Monitor is available in two sizes: 4:3 and 16:9 (HD up to 1280x720)." Does that mean that you are now displaying the full resolution image as it is captured? Does is display the full 720x480 for SD?

One of the things holding me back on this before was the inability to use it for focusing with the display resolution in 1.0.
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 07:12 AM   #22
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 106
Hi Barry,

There are 2 solutions to your problem - 1 is to use the original size 4:3 or 16:9 field monitor, and use the 1:1 pixel zoom mode, which is designed for critical focus needs. There is a keyboard shortcut - I think it's Ctrl-Z to toggle 1:1 zoom on and off, but it's early, and I haven't had my coffee yet. I'll double-check.

In DV Rack 2.0 HD, there is a new 1280x720 monitor frame, which if used for an SD signal will display the SD image at full resolution, so that you'll see all the pixels of the SD feed at all times.
__________________
Karl Soule'
Product Marketing Manager, Serious Magic Professional Products Group.
ksoule@seriousmagic.com
Karl Soule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 07:22 AM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 817
Karl,

Didn't expect to hear from you for a couple hours :).

Thanks, that's great. The 1:1 is new, yes?

Also, the DVCProHD decoder sounds good too. I'm not shooting with that yet, and so I didn't know that there was a need. Question: If I am shooting with an HVX200 and recording directly to DVRack, will there be no need for this conversion?
__________________
Barry Gribble
Integral Arts, IMDB
Barry Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 07:44 AM   #24
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 106
Barry, Serious Magic has had a history of announcing a product early, and shipping it later. This time, we didn't announce until we shipped it, and it's been killing me for the past month not telling anyone about it. I'm so excited that I can talk about it, I can't sleep. :)

That's Right - there's no need for file conversion. DV Rack captures direct to AVI or QuickTime files.

We do include the DVCProHD Decoder with every purchase of DV Rack 2.0 HD as a special free bonus. Without the decoder, the only NLE that reads DVCProHD data is Canopus Edius. Premiere Pro and Vegas editors have been left out. With the Decoder, these NLE's can read the files. You can also convert files recorded on a P2 card with the Batch Converter to match your DV Rack footage.

BTW - The QuickTime files currently cannot be read on a PC. That's an Apple decision not to include a DVCProHD QuickTime codec in the Windows version of QuickTime. However, the clips are viewable in DV Rack, and will drag/drop right into Final Cut on a Mac.
__________________
Karl Soule'
Product Marketing Manager, Serious Magic Professional Products Group.
ksoule@seriousmagic.com
Karl Soule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 08:18 AM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 456
Quote:
BTW - The QuickTime files currently cannot be read on a PC. That's an Apple decision not to include a DVCProHD QuickTime codec in the Windows version of QuickTime. However, the clips are viewable in DV Rack, and will drag/drop right into Final Cut on a Mac.
That's great news, Karl! I also think the $99 upgrade price should be available for owners of the HDV plugin for a little bit longer than the end of this month. I just forked over hundreds to buy the DV Rack/HDV combo not two weeks ago, so it makes choking down another $99 for the software an unforeseen expense. The surprise on a new version is nice, but it would be nice to have a little additional time to afford the upgrade at the right price.
Eric Darling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 09:44 AM   #26
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 106
I can't make any guarantees about extending the sale price, since that is outside of what I control, but I will take your request to our sales manager.
__________________
Karl Soule'
Product Marketing Manager, Serious Magic Professional Products Group.
ksoule@seriousmagic.com
Karl Soule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 01:42 PM   #27
Serious Magic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 68
The JVC GY-HD250 should be fully supported by DV Rack 2.0 HD, but we don't have one of them in-house to test with. Feel free to download the trial and see for yourself--and please let us know if you run into any problems.

How many hard drives are you prepared to install to capture HDSDI? By our calculations, you'll need 6 of them.
__________________
Mark Mapes
OnLocation QA Manager, Adobe Systems
Mark Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2006, 08:05 PM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Big Island, Hawaii
Posts: 27
It's just a matter of Moore's law and time. :)

One can only hope.

aloha,

Keith
__________________
Keith Nealy
Productions
Keith Nealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 12:14 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl Soule
I can't make any guarantees about extending the sale price, since that is outside of what I control, but I will take your request to our sales manager.
Hi Karl - Do I understand correctly that a recent purchase of DV Rack 1.2 and HDV Rack 1.2 is NOT elligible for a free upgrade to DV Rack 2.0 HD? That seems very uncommon in the software industry.

Though the new features of version 2.0 look nice, I have to say that $800 for a new version of DV Rack 2.0 HD makes it seem like far less of a deal.

Did your sales manager decided to extend the sale price? Thanks, Shawn
Shawn Redford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chapmanville, USA
Posts: 138
I was hoping for a free upgrade myself... Oh well.

Can't afford the upgrade this time around.
Travis Maynard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network