Premiere Pro 1.5.1 available - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 3rd, 2005, 11:12 AM   #16
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
<<<-- Originally posted by Kevin Shaw : Steven: can you give us a quick summary of what HDV editing tasks work in real time with Aspect HD? I've heard it may be a fairly short list of effects. -->>>

I know you asked Steven, but here is the list:

RT Effects: (all with control points.)
2 color correctors.
Premiere's Motion interface (PiP, and titles)
Premiere's Overlays (titles)
Premiere's Opacities controls
2 Pan, Zoom Rotation filters for post camera moves.
Slow motion (with frame blending off.)

Non-RT Effects:
Chroma noise filter.

RT Transition: (most with parameters like slow edge and border controls)
Dissolve
Additive Dissolve
6 3D page peel variations (with parameters.)
Covers, Reveals and Pushes
About 30 2D wipes
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 11:14 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
<<<-- Yeah, if you can't work on the file in AE then the included codec with Premeire Pro 1.5.1 is basically useless for a lot of people and we need to buy the $500 version from Cineform. -->>>

If you want just the CFHD VfW codec components you can purchase Connect HD from the CineForm website for $199. CHD also comes with the HDLink I/O utility. Aspect HD (at $499) of course comes with various RT performance capabilities and additional workflow features that extend PremPro1.5.1. Also, the soon-to-be released v3.0 of Aspect HD has importer and exporter components for AE that also fix the PAR (pixel aspect ratio) problem inherent in AE6.5 for 1440x1080 material.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 11:43 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 274
<<<-- Originally posted by Greg Jacobson : What "other porgrams" would you expect their codec to be transferrable to? After Effects or other non-Adobe programs? -->>>

Non-Adobe programs. It would be nice if the codec was not meant to just stay in Premiere Pro. I wouldn't mind having an older version of the codec that doesn't give the speed of the new versions or whatever features they promise in 3.0. Also, how can I encode my videos to MPGs when I can't import the AVI? At least with the methods I use now.

<<<-- Originally posted by David Taylor : If you want just the CFHD VfW codec components you can purchase Connect HD from the CineForm website for $199. CHD also comes with the HDLink I/O utility. Aspect HD (at $499) of course comes with various RT performance capabilities and additional workflow features that extend PremPro1.5.1. Also, the soon-to-be released v3.0 of Aspect HD has importer and exporter components for AE that also fix the PAR (pixel aspect ratio) problem inherent in AE6.5 for 1440x1080 material. -->>>

Hmm, Connect HD isn't too bad of an idea. I guess waiting a little bit more and seeing what happens would be best.
Kyle Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 12:50 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
David,

You can answer these questions any time. I love your product and your support makes it easier.

Kevin,

To add to what David said, basically the effects are the ones I use. I don't make a lot of fancy transitions or add funky effects. I shoot nature shots mostly so all I need are color correction and some dissolves with Motion and Opacity. So as far as I am concerned, everything is realtime. You know?

If I had a choice between seeing my stuff in the movie theater or on Discovery HD, I would choose Discovery HD. I want to shoot for the Sunrise series. I can't stop watching that stuff. It has driven up my TV time considerably.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 01:46 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 76
<<<-- Yeah, if you can't work on the file in AE then the included codec with Premeire Pro 1.5.1 is basically useless for a lot of people and we need to buy the $500 version from Cineform. -->>>

Aish - you just can't please some people. PP1.51 is a free HDV upgrade which will enable HDV users to edit in PP1.51. The free upgrade is aimed at the average user. If you have more specialised requirements, then by all means you should have to pay for more advanced software. If you're using AE, then I imagine you'd want the RT capabilities of AspectHD.
__________________
Derek Antonio Serra
Indie Filmmaker
www.indv.co.za
Derek Serra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 05:21 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 274
By advanced, you mean being able to open your AVI in other programs?
Kyle Edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 05:28 PM   #22
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
With Premiere 1.5.1 you can open CFHD in applications that support DirectShow (that is why MediaPlayer works.) Adobe can distribute a VideoForWindows (VfW) decoder to support AE and other Adobe tools, but they haven't done so yet. However, the ability to create new CFHD files outside of Premiere has not been licensed by Adobe. If you want to do filters within AE, Combustion, VirtualDub, etc and output to CFHD you will need to have a license from CineForm (comes with Connect HD and Aspect HD.)

David Newman
CTO, CineForm
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 06:38 PM   #23
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
>Kyle: Read thread before posting.

You are a bit hasty to be rude, mate. I was replying to the guy who, I think, wanted to know what other programs people were hoping the 1.5.1 CFHD codec would work with.

Pull your head in.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2005, 07:49 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 274
Sorry about then. I'll edit my post.


Also I figured out a way to get the 1.5.1 CFHD codec into non-VFW programs. I'm set.
Kyle Edwards is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network