Earthquake Effect at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 6th, 2005, 02:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 98
Earthquake Effect

I was wondering how to make an earthquake effect with Preimere Pro, such as makn the whole scene shake like in the butterfly effect, thanks!
Glen Chua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 05:52 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
nup.. vegas has a script for it though.. complicated pan and zoom tool (track motion)

download teh demo of vegas and check out the Vasst site...

vegas also does the radial blur, warping, and glow and transitional flash also seen in Butterfly effect..

one thing though, i really REALLY like the way they made the handwriting shiver when hes reading through his journal :) now thats a trick id like to learn..
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 98
what do you mean by the Vaast site... and I have Vegas but i find it a bit difficult to use. Could you explain how to do the earthquake effect, and where do I find the radial blur option? Thanks
Glen Chua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 06:35 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
radial blur is a filter

quake is a script, which is run from the script menu. Its calleed Vegas Quake and can be found on the VASST site as a free download
Peter Jefferson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 08:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 98
Sorry again to ask you this, but I cannot find it on the VASST site, could you possibly put up a URL? Thanks.
Glen Chua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 08:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
I Googled "VASST" and the very first listing was the correct one; amazing what you can find with Google given just a word, phrase or idea.

www.vasst.com

I couldn't find it in the VASST Scripts listing, though I too thought it should be there. I may be wrong but I think it was a Vegas 4.0 script that wasn't updated to Vegas 5 compatibility. Might be why it isn't there anymore.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2005, 04:29 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
If you're using premiere pro it can be done manually and quite easily by using the motion effect and key framing.

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2005, 09:01 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
<<<-- Originally posted by Jonathan Nicholas : If you're using premiere pro it can be done manually and quite easily by using the motion effect and key framing.

Jon -->>>

Acrually it can be done just as easily in Vegas by using the same Track Motion and keyframing you are recommending in PP. But Vegas users can do it even easier by using a script. If someone writes a script to perform the same action (Quake in this case) all the Vegas user has to do is run the script. Highlight the track and select Tools/Scripting/Quake.

Jonothan, since Glen seems to be more comfortable in PP than Vegas, why don't you walk him through steps to perform the action using motion effect and key framing.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2005, 09:38 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
Will do. I need to do this for a show I'm working on - it would be good if I could save the effect too.

Am not near my editing pc at the mo, will look later.

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2005, 12:54 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Westford, MA
Posts: 145
I know for a fact that there's a third-party After Effects plugin that does this exact thing. It's even called Earthquake. I just saw it once however, not sure who makes it where you can buy it. Google?
Brent Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2005, 09:44 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 90
I've made a basic earthquake effect - if you like I can email you the preset if you pm me.

Jon
Jonathan Nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2005, 06:46 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 60
There's also a plugin in the Delerium set called Film Shake that will accomplish the same thing. By DigiEffects btw. It was for AE but I just pulled it over and it works fine in PPro
__________________
itimebomb productions
Chris Ivanovskis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network