499 $ to edit HD formats with Premiere Pro CS4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 5th, 2009, 04:29 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Marseille, France
Posts: 5
499 $ to edit HD formats with Premiere Pro CS4

We know that Premiere Pro CS4 does not support XDCAM and AVCHD formats because, unlike most professional video editing softwares, it doesn’t export them (you have to buy very expansive Mainconcept plug-in to do it).

This problem is increased by another one, which is even worse : unlike for example Edius Pro and Final Cut Pro, which include for free essentials intra-frame editing codecs (Canopus HQ for Edius and ProRes for Final Cut…) to correctly edit HD videos (XDCAM, HDV, AVCHD…), Premiere Pro CS4 does not : in order to edit HD videos with Premiere Pro CS4 (except P2 from Panasonic which is supported by Premiere), no choice but to buy Cineform codec whose price is 499 $ minimum ( CineForm Inc ) !!

It was important to communicate this information which shows Premiere Pro CS4 only supports non-HD formats (+ P2 from Panasonic), because it is not said at all on Premiere Pro CS4 documentation.
Thomas Planquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 07:04 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
You've made this point already in other threads. If you haven't already done so, submit a feature request to Adobe since none of us knows what additional support may or may not be included in the impending 4.2 update. If they don't come through for you, perhaps it will be necessary for you to move to another NLE.

In the meantime, I'll continue editing my HDV and AVCHD natively footage on CS4 and rendering to a delivery format.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 09:06 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Planquette View Post
...no choice but to buy Cineform codec whose price is 499 $ minimum ( CineForm Inc ) !!
NeoScene is cheaper and includes the same codec. There is no need to but NeoHD for exporting purposes only.

Have you contacted Adobe reagrding this? Creating multiple threads in several forums wont change a thing while filing Feature Requests will. File Feature Requests to Adobe if you will see any change. If you dont, nothing will happen.
__________________
/Roger
Roger Averdahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2009, 11:56 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas Planquette View Post
We know that Premiere Pro CS4 does not support XDCAM and AVCHD formats because, unlike most professional video editing softwares, it doesn’t export them (you have to buy very expansive Mainconcept plug-in to do it).
I own an EX-3, and PPro CS4 edits the footage natively, and I've cut AVCHD footage natively from a Panasonic HMC-150, so I don't know how you can say PPro CS4 doesn't support XDCAM or AVCHD formats...

As for exporting them, I can export them just fine....
Eric Addison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11th, 2009, 05:57 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 402
If you can please tell me how. We are editing using Premiere and Final cut. FC i sthe main machine, we now have a timeline in Premiere (XDCAM EX 720 25p) that I would like to export out as a native XDCAM file BPAV folder and everything.
CAn this be done in Premiere? I know I can do it from FC, but it would be a pain for us to go that way and end up on the PC.
Please help me out.
Joachim Hoge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2009, 11:29 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joachim Hoge View Post
If you can please tell me how. We are editing using Premiere and Final cut. FC i sthe main machine, we now have a timeline in Premiere (XDCAM EX 720 25p) that I would like to export out as a native XDCAM file BPAV folder and everything.
CAn this be done in Premiere? I know I can do it from FC, but it would be a pain for us to go that way and end up on the PC.
Please help me out.
Premiere Pro doesn't export out to a BPAV folder in XDCAM format, but you can export out to any number of other formats...I don't see why you would want to export out to a BPAV folder - can you explain more about your workflow and why you need that?
Eric Addison is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network