Premiere + Quadro + Elemental H.264 & Mpeg2 Accelerator at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2009, 02:25 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Premiere + Quadro + Elemental H.264 & Mpeg2 Accelerator

Earlier this summer, Elemental released an updated version of their Premiere CS4 plugin which now works with nvidia Quadro FX1800, 3800, 4800 and 5800. This plugin accelerates H.264 and MPEG2 decoding and encoding and is bundled with the Quadro's for about an extra $100.

So, has anyone used this new plugin and which card?

I am looking at either the FX1800($600) or FX3800($950) which will also be used in AE CS4 and Cinema 4D 11.5.

Thanks
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 07:25 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 86
The updated software works a lot better than the prior versions. The h.264 encoding is now much faster and is stable. Image quality is good. Mine is with the Quadro CX card.
David Moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 24th, 2009, 05:36 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
If you expect to use the accelerator a lot, then I recommend the 3800 as it is far more powerful. There is a significant performance difference between the 1800 and the 3800, but the next step to the 4800 is marginal in most cases. The 3800 is the sweet spot in the current Quadro line, bang for buck. Just make sure you have good ventilation since it is a single slot card, but generates as much heat as the larger 4800. (With less surface area to allow it to cool)
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2009, 08:54 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Hi Mike. I see that you also have a DreamColor. I am tossing my Matrox Mini because it slows my Premiere editing, so I am looking to use Premiere's output to either a 24" JVC DTV24L1U ($1600) or a DreamColor for monitoring. At the moment, everything is destined for the web but within a few months, each video will need to be CC for broadcast and web. I don't foresee a need for 10bit as I use an EX1 + Nanoflash but the color space presets on the DreamColor sound very helpful.

So, does Premiere output progressive and can the Quadro's output RGB so the DreamColor engine works?

One other quick question: would the FX3800 provide a better AE CS4 experience vs a $200 consumer card? (or C4D?)

THANKS
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2009, 02:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
If you hook the Dreamcolor to your video card via DVI, it is RGB and progressive by default, so you can set it to REC709.
If you hook it to a new card via Display port, you will also get 10bit color support in the future once the software catches up to support it.

Quadro should provide some level of extra benefit in AE CS4 as well, and definitely in C4D.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2009, 02:42 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Thanks Mike!

One more quick question: I recently learned of the Eizo CG243W 24" LCD. It is very similar to the DreamColor in that it has several color presets(rec 709 & others) and displays 10bit(via Dp). Don't know if this matters, but the Eizo also has 16bit internal processing and 12bit LUT. The Eizo is $300 more than the HP, too. Do you know of this LCD and/or have any thoughts?
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 08:59 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Do you know if you find a Nvida 8800 you can reflash it to a FX3700 Quadro?

I have and it works a treat
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 11:03 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
you just need to go there and see what Geforce CPU has equivalent in a quadro card and reflash.
C:\Documents and Settings\GIROUDF.DUPONTNET\My Documents\Nvidia Quadro - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.mht
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
InsanelyMac Forum > 8800 GT to Quadro FX 3700

Tech ARP - NVIDIA GeForce To Quadro Soft-Mod Guide Rev. 4.1
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 07:12 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Dave, using a FX 3700 is no good for using the Elemental accelerator because the pulg-in requires FX x800 series. In addition, the plug-in is $500 by itself or only $100 when bundled with a Quadro. Several months ago, I looked into soft-modding my 8800GT, but I didn't see any benefits for Premiere, AE or C4D.

Apparently, CS5 will have much better support and implementation of the GPU. I saw a video on fxguide showing 5 r3d clips plus 8 filters being played in real-time in Premiere using some form of Adobe's new implementation. Also, after reading about nvidia's new "Fermi" gpu design, I think it would be good to wait til CS5 specs are known and how well various cards perform.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 08:49 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Kalle View Post
Dave, using a FX 3700 is no good for using the Elemental accelerator because the pulg-in requires FX x800 series. In addition, the plug-in is $500 by itself or only $100 when bundled with a Quadro. Several months ago, I looked into soft-modding my 8800GT, but I didn't see any benefits for Premiere, AE or C4D.

Apparently, CS5 will have much better support and implementation of the GPU. I saw a video on fxguide showing 5 r3d clips plus 8 filters being played in real-time in Premiere using some form of Adobe's new implementation. Also, after reading about nvidia's new "Fermi" gpu design, I think it would be good to wait til CS5 specs are known and how well various cards perform.
They have released a 2.2 version that supports the FX3700

Accelerator Product Specifications | ELEMENTAL TECHNOLOGIES
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 01:09 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
David, I really wish you hadn't done that. Now, I am going to spend several hours trying to flash my 8800GT.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 02:24 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Steve its a 2 min job. All the flash does it change the ID of the card.

I used the flash files on that site. You also need NVflash and a bootable floppy disk. The FD was the hardest thing I had to do.

Who uses them these days!
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 01:23 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Looks like I'm buying a FD drive tomorrow or Monday. Just need to find a place that still sells them.

Thanks David!
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2009, 03:04 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
No problem please let me know how you get on.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network