Efficient Green Screen Workflow between Adobe Apps? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2009, 02:39 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 175
Efficient Green Screen Workflow between Adobe Apps?

I have shot around 10mins of green screen HDV 720p footage (for a 2min greenscreened short). I use AE CS4 and PProCS4 (with Dyn Link)

*When* do I key out the greenscreen & do the compositing?

Option A:
1) Assemble a rough cut in Premiere pro (basically delete all unusable takes)
2) Right Click and Replace with AE Composition (do I need to do this for each clip or the whole sequence?)
3) Do the Keying & all complex compositing in AE and come back to PPro to apply transisions etc.
4) Render out to Adobe Media Encoder for FLV (online distribution)

Or Option B:
1) Start in AE, throw away usable takes
2) Key and do composting in AE
3) Render to xxx (which format??)
4) Import to PPro and do the fine tuning there?
__________________
http://www.wizedot.com
Ram Ganesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 04:21 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
I would choose option A, since that makes the composition in AE easier to handle and the simple work can be done in PR.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 09:11 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 22
workflow

The first one is the best. I just completed an 800 shot greeenscreen project with that workflow. One thing to keep in mind is you need lots of RAM if large project. If you are using 4gigs of ram you might run into crashing issues. CS4 runs AE in the background about 3-4 times while using dynamic link. You use up the ram really fast. If using 64bit system it can allocate 4gig ram to each program open. Hope this helps
Greg Omelchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 12:51 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 175
That explains why I see 'AfterFX.exe' multiple times in my TaskManager... Unfortunately, I just have 2 GB ram, and system crawls...

To speed things up - should I split sequences into its own projects? (is it even doable?)
__________________
http://www.wizedot.com
Ram Ganesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2009, 01:15 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
To speed things up and improve stability at the same time, get extra memory.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network