Best codec for a workflow between PC and Mac? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 9th, 2009, 02:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 75
Best codec for a workflow between PC and Mac?

Hey Everyone,

I'll be working on a project where my effects editor is on a mac and im doing my editing on my PC in PProCS4. I'll be shooting on my HMC150 so ill start out working with AVCHD files. Was wondering what my best options were for a workflow where i can give him some files to work on, then bring them right back onto my PC with the least headache. Even though i can edit native native AVCHD im guessing this wouldent be a good format for effects work / color correction, so i think our options will have to be after a transcode has taken place. I'll also be doing green screen in this project so if the codec could maintain original shooting resolution and allows for 4.2.2 color space that would be ideal. Let me know what you all think. Thanks!

- Shawn
Shawn Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 12:11 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kråkstad Norway.
Posts: 229
Checkout Cineform ProspectHD.
My partner is on Mac and I am on PC and we exchanged footage between both systems.

~g
__________________
http://www.mlotv.com
Gary Brun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 12:22 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Cineform would be perfect for this.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 12:35 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Brun View Post
Checkout Cineform ProspectHD.
My partner is on Mac and I am on PC and we exchanged footage between both systems.

~g
All for only $1500...

Honestly, I'd recommend going to a lossless codec if greenscreen is going to be used. However, if you are going to go to a lossy codec like Cineform, might as well do Avid's DNxHD since it's free and just as good in my opinion. If 4:4:4 were needed, or resolutions higher than HD, or the PC user was in Vegas, then I'd certainly say Cineform is superior for the lossy codec choice.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 06:27 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 75
This project will have about 20 hours of footage so I dont think transcoding to uncompressed is an option due to my storage space being about 1TB.

Cineform is only cross platform with HD link, which re-wraps the AVI files i would create to .Mov. However this only comes with Neo HD or higher, which starts at around $400 or so i think. Is this correct? I dont believe Neoscene can be cross platform.


Avid's DNxHD seems like the best / most cost effective option at this point. Can anyone tell me why i should spend the $400 for cineform over DNxHD?
Shawn Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2009, 08:35 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
NeoHD is $499, but in your case, I think DNxHD would get it done. It's my first choice for cross platform stuff. BUT it does have limitations (like not being able to be used above 1080p. Seems like it would work for you here.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 02:30 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 75
" If 4:4:4 were needed, or resolutions higher than HD, or the PC user was in Vegas, then I'd certainly say Cineform is superior for the lossy codec choice"

Just curious why it would be the choice for vegas but not CS4?

At this point it looks like i would need at least Neo HD which is $499, and looks like most people are saying i would need 2 copies of it as well, so more like $1,000. DNxHD looks like the clear winner for my case.
Shawn Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 06:14 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Vegas has some particular quirks working with .mov files on the timeline that other editors don't seem to have. Thus Cineform is very popular for Vegas users.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 04:30 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blacksburg VA
Posts: 75
got this advice on another forum:

"Wouldn't bother with Cineform - ProRes is support on both Macs and PCs and it's free with the QuickTime Player."

Anyone know about using ProRes as a cross platform workflow? I didnt think I could transcode to ProRes from my PC, but if i could it does seem like a good option right?
Shawn Whiting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 04:44 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Daegu, Korea
Posts: 180
PCs can't export Prores (if they can, please let me know about it - I'd like to be able to).

DNxHD is the best option I've found yet.
Daniel Bates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2009, 05:03 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn Whiting View Post
got this advice on another forum:

"Wouldn't bother with Cineform - ProRes is support on both Macs and PCs and it's free with the QuickTime Player."

Anyone know about using ProRes as a cross platform workflow? I didnt think I could transcode to ProRes from my PC, but if i could it does seem like a good option right?
PC's can read, but cannot write Pro-Res. So it's a one-way street.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network