Me, my pc and my xh a1s just can't jump the fence to the world of premiere at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 10th, 2010, 10:22 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
Me, my pc and my xh a1s just can't jump the fence to the world of premiere

I love the world of Premiere so much, but the problem is XHA1s capture..
After sitting ages in google, I just dunno, hand doesn't raise any more, if u know what I mean.
Yes, I tried trial of Vegas. Looks nice, but it wasn't enough for me. Premiere for me is just so much better. Then I tried trial for Premiere, but it doesn't like my XHA1s.. Yes, I read all the threads and tried too many things already.. ;/
So what then, Vegas?
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 11:17 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
The trial does not support anything MPEG, as is clearly stated on the Adobe site. But rest assured the XH-A1 is fully supported.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 02:21 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
mmmmmhhhh

yeah, well
ok, let's say, I buy the software..
I would be with shaking hands, cause I have no guarantee that it will support my xha1s..
as you can see in many threads before, for example..
I just dunno what to do with myself
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 03:09 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Try it and use the 30-day refund possibility if not satisfied.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 03:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 680
the secret is to NOT use Premiere for capturing HD footage from the XH-A1.

trust me, download and use a free and tiny program called HDV-Split. It recognises the XH-A1 every single time without fail. not only that, but it captures scene by scene (each scene is a separate mpeg), which makes editing in PPro an absolute breeze.
Richard Wakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 04:41 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
hey

I do use HDVSplit..
then the m2t file is not recogniseable
of course i have trial now, cause i wanna try it, but then in trial it doesn't support any mpeg, u know..
but if i buy cs4, i buy from usa, cause there is cheaper even if the postage is included
and then with all the return policy things it is just a madness
does your cs4 support m2t???
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 05:47 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Yes it does, but then I have the Master Collection CS4.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2010, 05:49 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
This link will tell you all about the formats PPro supports: Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 * File formats supported for import

I have imported direct into PPro from HDV on the XHa1 with no problems, fwiw.

/Battle Vaughan
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 01:40 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
superb

Thanx, guys!!!
Much appreciate :)
Salvis Are is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2010, 01:26 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 244
HDVSplit and Win7

Hi

I havn't had HDVSplit to run under Windows7 (64 Ultimate). It does start but in most cases it crashes. I've tried all possible (I think) setups and start alternatives but with the same result.

I can confrm that Adobe CS4 Premiere Pro handles my XH-A1 without problems and capture from within Premiere Pro is working. As scene detection doesn't work during HDV capture in Premiere, and HDVSplit cant be used to capture with, my workaround is to capture with Premiere Pro and then run HDVSplt on the captured mpeg-file and have it do the scene detection as this works.


Regards,

/Bo
Bo Sundvall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2010, 07:50 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 80
HDV Split 0.77beta

HDV Split 0.77beta works fine under Win7 ultimate

Download HDVSplit 0.77 beta - HDVSplit is a free utility that is able to capture from HDV camcorders and split to scenes like it is common for DV camcorders - Softpedia
__________________
www.griffinvideoproductions.com.au | Sony Z1 and FX1 | Windows 7 x64 | i7-920 OC 3.6GHZ | 12gb DDR3 | CS5.5 Master Collection
Brett Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2010, 03:35 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 244
Hi

Do you run 32 or 64 bit version of Win7? I can't get it to work on 64bit even when runnig it in different older modes and/or as administrator. It seems as it sometimes captures but with scene detection and/or preview it crashes.


/Bo
Bo Sundvall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2010, 03:40 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Riga(LV)-London(UK)
Posts: 30
hiya

I will run 64 win7, but i hvnt tried yet... at the end of this month i will and then i can tell u!!!
Cheerio.
Salvis Are is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network