Please suggest a HD monitor for playback from CS4 timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 29th, 2010, 12:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 185
Please suggest a HD monitor for playback from CS4 timeline

I just upgraded to HD cameras. I use Adobe premiere CS4 with a small Canon camera as an external device. I playback the time line onto an old TV monitor. I don't have an HD TV but I'm looking for an HD monitor if anyone has any model suggestions.

Also, I would be interested in what others are using in form of a card to install in my computer to go to an external monitor.

Thanks for the replies!
Art
Art White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 12:33 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 189
As long as your video card has 2 ouputs you can send the program monitor out the second output. I use a DVI to HDMI cable going to a panasonic 32 inch 1080p LCD. Works perfect for me.


Ben
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 09:18 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 233
I went for the best, so I purchased the JVC DTV24L1D. It has SDI input, and is top of the line in the professional field. Retail is $4,000, but I found a refurbished one for $2,500.

If this is out of your price range, then the Sony KBR-32XBR9 is excellent if you can put up with a monitor that large.
Brian Barkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 03:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 185
Thank you.
In that case I think for me, it doesn't matter too much what type of card as long as I can monitor out. I use P2 cards for media transfer. I don't do much capturing other than that. I just can't see what the output looks like with no HD monitor.

Those are both good monitor suggestions.
Thanks
Art
Art White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2010, 08:35 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Depending on what display card you are using, if you have a DVI/HDMI output, there are now some LED backlit consumer LCD panels that are frighteningly good. They probably aren't as calibratable as many of us would like....

I've seen a few Samsungs recently that simply blew me away...huge panel sizes for under 3,000.00. I could use Dreamcolor for my source of truth and the client gets to watch the big screen and smiles...

I still like my Sony broadcast CRT...I have this emotional attachment to CRTs, but that attachment is simply getting less and less rational as time goes on...

I would also pile on on the JVC panels, they seem to be quite good for the price.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 05:13 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
How do you setup Premiere? I'd like my Program monitor on my main Dell 24" TFT and full screen on a second 21" TFT/TV is this possible? I can only get on one or the other?
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 05:18 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
In Playback options...in the menu where you would choose "draft" or "high' quality, or switch to a waveform, etc...

In playback options, you'll see an "external device" widget...you should see any display on your system that isn't your primary display available for full screen playback use.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 05:28 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Tim thanks,

I think that is enabled but how do I get my "program window" over there? I can see I can undock it but I would like them on both screens?

Added pic
Attached Thumbnails
Please suggest a HD monitor for playback from CS4 timeline-external.png  
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 05:40 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Ah its not working in the CineForm preset. In the standard PP ones it displays!

Cheers

Nevermind its working in CF presets now - Exited PP and opened again and it started working. Great!

Time for a bigger TFT for external monitor now
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 05:57 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Tim,

What do you think of the following?

LCD TV - Television | SAMSUNG

I can't afford anything massive but anything under 400/$600 would be great.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 10:24 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
It all depends on what you want to do.

The biggest deal with monitors is how dependent you are on their color representation. The resolution can also be an issue at resolutions below full 1080 also, if your 1080 source ends up being scaled...

I would say that you may want to avoid any of the "enhanced" modes they refer to as they may make the image color or sharpness more intense, but they probably have very little to do with accuracy.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network