AME CS4.2 is changing my 59.94 footage into 60.00 - what the heck!?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 16th, 2010, 06:46 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
AME CS4.2 is changing my 59.94 footage into 60.00 - what the heck!?!

Has anyone else encountered the following ... ?

I have 720p59.94 progressive Cineform avi footage on a Premiere CS4 timeline. After editing, I send it to AME to export a new Cineform Master clip, specifying 720p59.94 in AME's video settings.

But the footage that comes out is 60.00 framerate!!
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 08:40 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
That's strange....

I mean, you have 720P footage, which is clearly progressive, yet 59.94 framerate denotes that you've got an interlaced signal?
Is it perhaps the naming convention that's screwing everything up??

Where is the indication that you've got a true progressive 60fps? Are you loading the clip into third party sofware (MediaInfo) and verifying this??
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 08:48 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
It's progressive footage, converted from the orginal AVCHD from an HMC40 using HDLink.

If I pull the raw CFHD clip into Virtualdub, it shows up as 59.94 (this is what I would expect - it's what the camera shoots). If I pull the edited and rendered CFHD clip (from AME) into Virtualdub it shows up as 60.00.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 09:09 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
I suspect, that somehow, internally, Cineform and/or Premiere is using fields to process the information. Perhaps this is why Vdub shows 59.94.

But the tell tale sign would be audio synch...
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 09:23 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
I'm confused. From Panasonic rolls out AG-HMC40 AVCCAM handheld camcorder :

The HDC40 camcorder records in four professional AVCCAM recording modes: PH mode (average 21Mb/s, max 24Mb/s); HA mode (about 17Mb/s); HG mode (about 13Mb/s); and HE mode (about 6Mb/s). It supports 1080/59.94i in all modes and 1080/29.97p, 1080/23.98p native, 720/59.94p, 720/20.97p, and 720/23.98p native in PH mode only.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 10:03 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
"native, 720/59.94p, 720/20.97p"

I've never heard of that kind of native....I suspect the writers were on mushrooms when creating this article...

However i'd rather trust these specs..

It would confirm my suspicions that yes, it records 720P at 60fps, transfers and edits in 59.94 fields, and reexports out to the native 60fps output..
Although, i don't know what device plays out 60fps....

Anyways.....Good luck my friend!!!
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 07:58 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Wait, wait, wait.

Fields and timecode are different.
60p and 60i are different, but the drop frame timecode for 60p is 59.94. Just like 30p is 29.97 and 24p is 23.976.

This may actually be a problem with Premiere as if you aren't careful, it will automatically assume the wrong timecode base. For instance, 24p (frame rate) will sometimes end up as 23.980 (timecode) instead of 23.976. For some reason now, Adobe allows you to make up your own timecode base. People in AE have had this problem before too.

Sorry, this wasn't a solution, but an idea of where the problem might be.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2010, 10:23 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
There seems to be Cineform aspect to this - I've redirected the question to their forum: Rendering in CFHD in AME changes clips from 59.94 to 60.00 in AME?
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network