Voice over in premiere - problem when punch in at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2010, 03:24 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
Voice over in premiere - problem when punch in

Hi'
I have this problem that I cannot resolve. When listning to the output of the computer - the sound from the input to the output is delayed. That give the problem when doing a voice over that your own speach is delayed in the earphones and often you have to listen to the recording track until the inpoint for voiceovers.
Anyone resolved this ?

This is working in AVID, FCP and others - just not premiere. All I need to make it ideal for news and sports.
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2010, 04:34 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
can you be more specific?
is the problem there when you play from the timeline? does it exist when you export? is it in your source footage when you import?
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2010, 02:44 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
I shall try to be more specific : imagine you sit with a headset speaking (doing it as a voice over in premiere) - you make a wrong statement and you will try to redo the last sentense. You put an inpoint and an outpoint for your new speak. Playing towards your inpoint you hear your all your tracks (including your recording track-this is ok). When premiere reaches your new inpoint on the recording track you still hear all the tracks - this would be okay but now you hear the recording track with a signicantly delay that makes it impossible so make your speak when listning to you own voice delayd. If just the recording track would me muted when recording there would be no problem ..
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 04:39 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Why don't you just mute the tracks that you don't want to hear? If your real-time voice is delayed, then it's most definitely a system resource issue. If something on the track is delayed while you are recording over it, then try recording on a different track. I'm still shooting in the dark here because I haven't really got what you are asking for. Sorry.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 03:49 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
hmm - if you want to finish a sentense that goes wrong in the middle - you could delete the failed part and prepare a new track and mute it - it is a possibility but when you are editing news you dont have the time to shift tracks all the time and deleting stuff. Why cant the track just be muted while recording. If it is a problem with the capacity of the computer i dont understand as it is a system that Matrox has made for me - and the problem is with all my premiere systems - if so the adobe minnimum specifications for the system just aint enough..
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2010, 03:01 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
You can mute any or all tracks while recording.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2010, 01:27 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
Where do I mute the track while recording so it is not muted while playing back ?
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 12:40 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
there's a mute button for each track and all tracks in the mixing panel
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2010, 02:24 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
I tried that - but it mutes the track also when playing back. Then I cannot hear whats on the track until recording on the track starts. I need to hear whats on the track as my timeline are nearing the inpoint.
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2010, 06:35 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 114
Hi Bo - low tech solution, don't wear the headphones just hold one cup to your ear to hear your cue then move it away (you can still see your levels in the mixer view). Might work for you?
Gregory Gesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2010, 03:42 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 491
Yes - that was a possibility. Maybe CS5 has an control output to a mechanic arm that can control the headphone cup.
My problem is that different journalist's are used to the other way to work as it work on the proffessionel editing systems like AVID, FCP and Pinacle.

But until they make this little buttom I will try the cup thing.
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network