Premiere/ laptop resolution at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 17th, 2010, 03:26 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 232
Premiere/ laptop resolution

I was wondering if anyone has any input on whether a laptop with 1366x768 resolution is tolerable for editing in Premiere (CS4 or 5). I am looking at purchasing a laptop that I can use mostly for mobile transfers to hard disk from CF cards (shoot with the 7D), but I would like to have the ability to do some rough editing. I'm not sure how much real estate that resolution gives. As far as screen size, I was thinking something around 16", 17" max. Most of the deals I have been seeing on the i5 and i7 series seem to be stuck at that 1366x768 resolution level though, and the next jump up seems to be about $300-$400 more.
Craig Coston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 12:37 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
It is below minimum requirements, and the way Adobe defines minimum requirements is if you meet these requirements, you can install the program, and maybe edit some very short DV clips, but nothing more than that. Card based material like AVCHD needs way better specs.

The short answer is NO.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 03:47 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
If you just need to do some rough editing, why won't you buy Canopus neo 2 booster, on an I7 laptop it should be able to handle your 7d footage for basic editing.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 07:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 232
Though I feel Edius is a fine tool, I don't use it personally (even though I own v4 of Pro). I was meaning rough cutting my edits...laying footage down on the timeline and such to save time if I'm on a plane coming back from a shoot or something. I need to run Premiere so that I can bring the project to my desktop once I'm home.

Harm, I didn't even look at specs. I guess I should have started there! Do you happen to know much about the speed of laptop processors? I'm wondering if I can get away with an i5 or if I must use an i7 to get usable performance from CS5.
Craig Coston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network