Premiere unable to capture? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 17th, 2010, 08:43 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 691
Premiere unable to capture?

So I am trying to capture some footage from my HV30. I have successfully done this in the past with no problem however this time it is not giving me the option..

Here is what is happening;
I open Premiere, plug in my camera and turn it to play. Then go to file capture but the capture button is not able to be pressed. Probably something way simple that i'm overlooking.. The only thing I can think that I might have done differently than the last is that I was shooting in 30p instead of 24 and I set it to 24 when I opened a new project... Not sure that makes a difference because I have changed frame rates from 24p to 60i on the same tape before and uploaded just fine.

Thanks for your help!
Terry.
Terry Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 01:37 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
The HV30 is not a true 24P camera, it still wraps the 24F in a 60i wrapper. Maybe that is your problem.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 03:39 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Terry, are you sure the camera is being recognised? Not being able to push the capture button usualy means Premiere doesn't see any camera. I would try to capture on another pc just to eliminate the fact that you have damaged your camera firewireport. If that works I would try another camera to capture to be sure it's not a problem with your pc (maybe the firewire port from your pc)
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 11:15 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 691
Hey Noa, the only reason I haven't eliminated that possibility is because I can hit play, fast forward etc and control the camera via premiere..just not able to hit capture. Odd isn't it...?
Terry Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 01:44 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
When this happens it's usually due to a settings mismatch somewhere. Not saying that's the case here, but you might want to double check all your project and capture settings to make sure they match the cam. It's possible that somehow "DV Capture" got selected and it's looking for a DV cam while yours is putting out HDV...
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2010, 01:56 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
One has to make sure the HV30 is set to HDV, a HDV timeline is selected and capture settings in the capture dialog box needs to be HDV.
But first connect the camera to the firewire then switch the camera on (be sure everything is set to HDV before switching the camera on) and then open Premiere.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2010, 09:27 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 691
I don't know if maybe its just my version or what...but today it just worked. I didn't change a thing.. But then after I captured maybe 40 seconds of footage, dragged it into the source section and croped off maybe a 10 second clip to drag into the timeline a message pops up and says "adobe premeire has encountered a serious problem and needs to close." it closed and I lost it all.. But oddly I noticed that I didn't have a time line..or it said no sequence...It was just a blank spot.


Confused...
Terry Lee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network