effects not showing after render at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2010, 09:15 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 648
effects not showing after render

I'm a Premiere CS4 newbie. Using it on Win7 64 bit OS. I'm just trying to learn and figure out what's going on.

I've got a short clip that I'm prepping for youtube. It needs some minor corrections, so I added a couple of effects (that is, I dragged the effects to the video in the timeline, and they immediately showed up in the effects controls tab just like they should). The shadow/highlight effect to correct contrast a bit. The fast color correction to bump up saturation a bit. Looks fine in Premiere -- a very noticeable improvement.

When I export the project (File...Export...Media) rendering time just about doubles. I expected that it would. When I bring up the resulting file in quicktime to check it before submitting it to YouTube, I find that the filters don't seem to have been applied. To verify this I brought up the "before" and "after" versions side-by-side. They are very nearly identical to my eyes.

Yet when I toggle the effect on and off in Effects Controls tab in Premiere, the effect is dramatic.

I'm bound to be making some kind of newbie mistake. I've been searching and trying things incrementally trying to trace this down all afternoon. Whatever it is, I can't see it. What the frell am I doing wrong?
Bruce Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2010, 11:42 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Check your render settings - it is probably skipping something
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 01:56 AM   #3
Inner Circle
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,002
I just tried it and it works fine here. I suggest you try a few other things first. If the effect on/off works on the premiere monitor then try rendering it out as something like .avi or any other format that premiere can the read back directly. Then in the project window, open this file and slap it onto the timeline and see if it looks the same as the original, next to it. This will confirm if the problem is in the rendering out process. Don't use a setting that compresses, or changes the size, render it out as a full res file. This, I suspect will show the effects are being applied properly. Then you can do the same thing using whatever 'shrink and squeeze' format you picked. Most of these will be able to be brought back into premiere, so you can see when the problem starts.

I'd perhaps suggest using just twenty seconds or so of the original clip with no effect, then 20 secs with the effect - makes it quicker to render and export.

This will take a while, but might help you track it down.

Just for a further test I took a 15 second clip, duplicated it, added the two effects you mention, then exported as an avi (and later as a quicktime .mov). The first half of the render went quickly, second half as expected was slower. Bringing the avi and mov back in looked fine. I then exported the first file again in wmv format at a small size and brought that one back in too - colours and effects were a expected.

This perhaps doesn't help - but something odd is happening. I cannot find a feature to turn off effects rendering when exporting, so am stumped - sorry?
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 03:34 AM   #4
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 477
I had something similar once - As I remember, I was importing some DV captured videofiles from another machine and tried to play them in mine. My project was matrox DV - UPPER field (as I use amatox axio)
and the imported was DV- lower field. Settings in my computer, for rendering, was DV 25 upper but when it had rendered the other files it would not play. I am not certain that this was exactly how it was but maybe you should look on the imported file and what filetype Peremiere uses for rendering...
Bo Skelmose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 07:58 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 648
OK. This is weird. I created a test project. Imported the exact same clip into it. Pulled the first 10 seconds of it into the time line. Rendered it without any effects (for a comparison base). Applied effects. Rendered it.

Low and behold, the effects came through this time. So... my workflow was actually correct after all. Hmmm.....

Right now I'm reconstructing the entire project to try the full thing again, from scratch. It *should* work just fine. I have no idea why the existing project doesn't render the effects like it should. But if the new project does, problem solved!

Indeed, problem solved. The entire project rendered with the effects just like it should. I have no idea what was wrong, but "rebooting" solved it.

Sorry for being such a newbie. Thanks all for your patience and your help.
Bruce Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2010, 07:54 PM   #6
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,475
Just a thought, I don't know that it would solve the problem, but you can nest your existing sequence into a new sequence (which will treat the nested sequence as a single clip) and it might get around whatever grimlin is in your original setting...worth the two minutes it would take, to try it before you start from scratch....
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network