5.1 Audio not working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2010, 03:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
5.1 Audio not working

So I am looking to work on 5.1 audio for a movie I am filming soon, but I can't seem to get Premiere to recognize that I have 6 speakers...

I enable 5.1 and I am playing with the mixer and it is changing, but it is not going through to my back 2 speakers. What do I need to do to fix this issue?

Premiere Pro CS3
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 10:25 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
No one has a clue what is going on here?

Dang.. Well, it must just be me then..
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2010, 10:35 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 231
Have you tried to set your sound configuration on your computer? Just thingking maybe your configuration is set to Stereo output instead of 5.1.

Jun
__________________
Sony Z7U, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 70-200 F2.8L, Canon 580 EXII, Zoom H2.
Jun Galinato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 07:57 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 993
As far as I know, you have to buy a license/upgrade to unlock 5.1 audio.
Floris van Eck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 09:47 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
What soundcard and drivers do you have? (You need ASIO drivers running to be able to access each channel independently - standard WDM drivers won't work)
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 06:00 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Floris van Eck View Post
As far as I know, you have to buy a license/upgrade to unlock 5.1 audio.
No, 5.1 works fine. Historically, you got 3 trials of Dolby Digital 5.1 encoded output before having to buy -- haven't checked that out yet. However, editing 5.1 works fine, as should encoding output to PCM in 5.1.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2010, 02:09 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 167
5.1 works great in all my other programs, and I know ASIO is running right too...
__________________
Canon XH-A1, Rode NTG-2
DIGITAL NOIR PRODUCTIONS
Scott Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2010, 06:28 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Scott, I just made this mistake today so thought I'd share in case it solves your problem.

The presets in PPro CS5 (like the AVCHD one I used today) have a stereo track as the MASTER AUDIO TRACK. I tried submixing some stereo tracks into 5.1 today and didn't get the speaker outputs I expected. Once I created a new sequence with a 5.1 master audio track (rather than stereo, as is default in the preset), voila, it was all good.

I didn't look any further, but I think you can also assign audio output to a submix track if you already have built a complex sequence.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network