Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 11th, 2010, 11:26 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklinville, NJ
Posts: 45
Blackmagic Intensity (Pro) & Premiere CS5 Thread

Hi all! I just read that the Blackmagic Intensity Pro is now updated to work with Premiere CS5. I currently have the BM on a quad core PC with a basic ATI video card and Premiere CS4.

I am very interested in this update. I have a lot of problems currently with stability. CS4 completely freezes up or crashes every once in a while. Sometimes it even corrupts my current project file. Luckily I'm a save-a-holic and it doesn't set me back too far.

(I don't know if it's my contour shuttle pro interrupting a signal flow every once in a while or if it's the video card. I've had lots of issues with the video card though. From what I read on forums, CS4 seems really bloated and troublesome, and even cheaper older Nvidia cards are buggy with it. I'm personally convinced Adobe started on the CS5 route a long time ago when they worked on CS4, more or less. If less so, than the problem probably lies with it being such a hybrid program for 32 bit and 64 bit systems, I'm guessing.)

I've been way too excited about CS5 in combo with the Nvidia cards, but I simply can't afford the cheapest ones at around $500 on top of an upgrade cost to CS5.

This upgrade by Blackmagic may be a perfect intermediate upgrade until I can afford a new Nvidia card and/or the prices go down for them.

Is anyone else in the same boat as I am? I'd love to hear from success stories.
Matt Headley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 01:30 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 169
The new GTX 470 will be supported soon. Its $350 at newegg right now. I think the Black magic card will work fine with the new updates for capture and playback, but it won't give you the hardware acceleration that the Nvdia cards will give you.
Ben Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 10:19 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklinville, NJ
Posts: 45
right now I am just editing DV, although I am waiting delivery on a used Panasonic SD1 AVCHD camcorder. I will probably convert it to DV before importing however. I am really just looking for more stability solutions at the present time rather than horsepower.
Matt Headley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network