Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro BestProAction at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2010, 09:55 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro BestProAction

Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro CS5
Hi All
I've been trying to creat a Realistic earth in CS5 but when I try to located the Roll effect in the Transition effects folder it's not there. Below is the link at youtube I've been using. Any help locating the Roll Effect would be appreciated.
Thanks
Harry

YouTube - Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro
Harry Lender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 11:36 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Roll was an effect last seen in CS3 - Gone since that version.
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 06:53 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Shaughan thanks for your reply. Now the next question. What can I use in it's place or am I SOL?
Just my luck.
Harry
Harry Lender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 12:00 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
Not sure, really, Harry. You might look at Blender. For this kind of thing I tend to use products that are specifically designed for this type of thing (doing this in Premiere is a bit of a stretch, albeit doable as illustrated by that video) such as Lightwave. Blender is an open source implementation of the same idea...
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 12:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Shaughan, thanks so much for you response. I'm lucky in that I've kept CS3 on my computer. I went in CS3 and followed the video and was able to successfully complete it. It's a shame that they, Adobe, leave little things out thinking that we, the customers, won't need them. I do love CS5 but what am going to find missing tomorrow.
Thanks Again
Harry
Harry Lender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 02:23 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,126
I just checked and roll is in my CS4 transform folder - I guess it must have picked it up from CS3 if it's nopt part of 4?
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 03:06 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 272
It might have, Paul. I have CS4 and CS5 on my main Mac and CS3 on my older Windows machine and it was only on the CS3 version...
__________________
B-Scene Films
Shaughan Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 04:29 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Lender View Post
Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro CS5
Hi All
I've been trying to creat a Realistic earth in CS5 but when I try to located the Roll effect in the Transition effects folder it's not there. Below is the link at youtube I've been using. Any help locating the Roll Effect would be appreciated.
Thanks
Harry

YouTube - Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro
You can still use CS5 without the Roll effect. Follow the tutorial and use an image of earth like shown below. Easily made in e.g. Photoshop. Instead of the Roll effect use Motion and keyframe the position.
Attached Thumbnails
Creating a Realistic 3d Earth using only Adobe Premiere Pro BestProAction-aarde-3x-verkleind.png  
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 06:47 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Thanks Ann, I'll give it a try.
Harry
Harry Lender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 06:48 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 114
Hi Harry. Does CS5 still have CC Sphere?
Gregory Gesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 09:32 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
In After Effects, use CC Sphere. It is very easy and then you can dynamic link it into Premiere.

FYI, the Mac version has always had fewer effects than the PC version.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2010, 09:53 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St Charles, Mo
Posts: 242
Gregory.... CS5 has Spherize in the Distort folder. I don't know if that's what you mean. I searched but couldn't find CC Sphere. Hope this helps.
Harry Lender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2010, 06:28 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 114
Hi Harry. I'm on CS3 but have the Production Suite, which might make a difference? The CC Sphere effect is in my Premiere's Perspective folder - not any help I'm afraid if it isn't in yours.
Gregory Gesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2010, 07:09 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,484
It is included on CS4, as you found it in the Effects > Transform menu....just type in Roll in the search field in the effects list....good way to find anything, just type in part of the name and if it's there it pops up....
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2010, 08:39 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Spherize comes with Premiere. CC Sphere (Cycore) is an effect that comes with AE and also works in Premiere (not as smooth as in AE).
Ann Bens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network