Inexpensive Analog Capture for Premiere at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2010, 05:22 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 35
Inexpensive Analog Capture for Premiere

Looking for an analog capture device that I can plug USB or Firewire that Premiere CS4 or CS5 will recognize.

In searching through Newegg I see many products that come with crapware, but I'd like to capture straight from Premiere without having to load additional software...

Thanks
Jason McGovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2010, 09:09 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
I'd recommend the Canopus Converter.... The ADVC110 has been around for awhile.
You can of course spend more, depending on your needs, but you'll essentially be digitizing to the DV codec.

Premiere will cut through DV like butter...
Good luck!!!
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2010, 10:50 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 231
I use a cheap sony mini-dv camcorder with a pass-through analog to digital.

Jun
__________________
Sony Z7U, Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 24-105 F4L, Canon 70-200 F2.8L, Canon 580 EXII, Zoom H2.
Jun Galinato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 11th, 2010, 12:06 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 232
What about the BlackMagic Design USB Video Recorder? It looks simple enough.

Blackmagic Design: Video Recorder
Craig Coston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2010, 11:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Premiere only captures through firewire.
I second the Canopus (Grass Vally).
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2010, 11:55 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Third the Canopus (Grass Valley) analog>FW converters. I have 3...they just work.


...we ARE talking about standard def, right?
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2010, 10:24 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 227
AVC110 converter on Firewire

I have had one of these for 5 years. For most of that I was on XP and a motherboard with FireWire800 ports and the capture would periodicly "drop out". I would then have to backtrack and restart capture. I am now on Win7-64 and CS4 with a motherboard that seems to have FireWire400 only ports.....and the capture works flawlessly!
Don Blish is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network