CS5 - terrible, freezing performance when previewing Dissolve? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2010, 06:10 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 11
CS5 - terrible, freezing performance when previewing Dissolve?

I'm getting a weird problem in Premiere CS5. I'm editing Canon 5Dmk2 footage (the native MOVs, not transcoded) using nvidia GTX 285, intel Q6600 at 3ghz, and 6 gigs of RAM. I was just doing a simple test project when I noticed something wrong.

I setup a Cross Dissolve between two clips. If I scrub over the timeline, the dissolve appears fine. However, if I preview, at some point during the dissolve the footage freezes a few frames into the dissolve, although the timecode is still advancing (i.e. it still appears to be playing).

If I let it continue, after 10 seconds or so, the footage will jump to where it should be, although the playback is now jerky. Clips A and B both playback just fine normally, as long as I don't let it play over the transition..that's when things go haywire.

Just noticed that this is only if I dissolve using two clips of the same footage (same MOV file). If I dissolve between clips referencing different files, then it appears to work fine.

Anyone know what might be going on?
Ryan Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2010, 06:40 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
This is a known issue.
Temporary workaround.
Copy the clip you want to use twice in the windows explorer.
Import this copied clip into Premiere and use this as the 'second' clip.
Now your cross dissolve will work as expected.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2010, 07:18 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 11
Thanks for the reply Ann. Does indeed to be a bug in both CS4 and CS5, and apparently only when using AVCHD footage:
Adobe Forums: AVCHD CS4 and transitions problem

Your work around looks good, as well as using something like cineform.

cheers,
Ryan
Ryan Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2010, 01:16 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 30
Freezing

I am experiencing freezing without any disolves. I am using mt2 hdv and 5d files. Anyone having similar issue?
Brett Munoz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network