Will My New Apple Cut It? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 14th, 2010, 03:01 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Will My New Apple Cut It?

Hello All,

I just bought a new IMac 27" (new to Apple) with 2.8 GHz, 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 and ATi Radeon HD 4850.

My question is, "Do I have enough of a system to run Production Premium CS5, in particular After Effects?"

If any one can help me out here that would be great.

Thanks,

Andy
Andy Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 03:28 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
You probably should have asked this question before you spent all that money... :-)

You should probably change the video card to a certified MPE card. It will make a huge difference in Premiere.
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 04:33 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 11
Thanks Todd,

I haven't bought CS5 yet so that is why I was wondering.

Any issues with any of the other programs, like After Effects?

Thanks,

Andy
Andy Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 04:41 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA, United States
Posts: 790
I use After Effects on my MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz with 4GB of RAM. You shouldn't have a problem.
Edward Carlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2010, 08:27 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 85
The only reason I didn't go Apple iMac was the video card. If you can swap out the video card for one that works with MPE then it should work with Premiere Pro CS5 just fine.
Marc Brackhahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 06:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: philippines
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Carlson View Post
I use After Effects on my MacBook Pro 2.6 GHz with 4GB of RAM. You shouldn't have a problem.
can your timeline do realtime playbacks with effects on this laptop?
Robert Baynosa is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network