CS 3 Fade to Black at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2010, 11:41 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 339
CS 3 Fade to Black

Sorry! Got to ask a basic question with PP CS3.

I need to take the last clip on my project timeline and evenly/gradually fade to black by the clips end over its entire duration.

The manual is not clear to me at all.

Call me a dummy, however Id rather ask here than waste more time trying to figure it out.

Id really appreciate a resource being pointed out online that would solve this or someone listing the steps required that would successfully complete this task.

If there is more than one way to do it than thats great too, hopefully the easier the better.

Thanks for your patience in advance.

Kind Regards to all
Bruce Pelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 12:09 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Drag the "Dip to Black" transition (Effects tab > Video Transitions > Dissolve > Dip to Black) to the clip on the timeline. Grab the left edge of the transition on the top border of the clip on the timeline and stretch it to match the length of the clip.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 05:21 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Another way: ctl-click on the brightness -- or is it opacity, whatever, the yellow line in the video -- where you want the effect to start, again where you want it to end; this sets two keyframes. drag the righthand keyframe down all the way (use mouse and arrow tool) and you're done, see screen grab.
Attached Images
 
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 06:53 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 114
Hi Bruce. You can also select your clip, toggle open Opacity in your Effects Control panel and set keyframes for the beginning and end of your clip in there.
Gregory Gesch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2010, 07:21 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 339
Thank you gentlemen for another job well done!

I'm a bit wiser for asking!
Bruce Pelley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network