Premiere CS5 not importing images at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2010, 04:30 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 150
Premiere CS5 not importing images

Trying to import a logo into Premiere to tag some videos that I'm editing. I've been running into numerous problems, however importing the image. I got the image from my client as a .tiff file w/ transparency. I've tried to import it and several other versions that I've done myself in photoshop and nothing is importing.

The errors I get range from unsupported file to unsupported compression to wrong header information. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? This should be simple- the logo is just type on a transparent background, but just the same, I'd like to avoid redoing it.

--Ben
__________________
Benjamin Maas Fifth Circle Audio Signal Hill, CA
http://www.fifthcircle.com
Benjamin Maas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2010, 07:36 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 25
Hi. Apparently cs5 premiere does not support 16bit tifs. You might want to try resaving the file in photoshop's native psd format before you import.
Tara Graves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2010, 08:05 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 150
The files in question are 8 bit RGB tiffs. I had already changed them from the CMYK that the graphic designer had done everything in. Strange thing is that the .psd files were generating big errors as well.

I finally got things to work by making a whole new file, placing the old graphic in that new file and then importing into Premiere.

Still don't know why the original file didn't work, though... I swear I tried everything- different compression and color schemes (even though it was just black text), byte orders, etc... the .tif is still importing incorrectly (no transparent background), but at least the psd file worked.

--Ben
__________________
Benjamin Maas Fifth Circle Audio Signal Hill, CA
http://www.fifthcircle.com
Benjamin Maas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2010, 12:08 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
I've been finding out that some of these files formats aren't exactly "standard". Apparently some of these graphics formats are as bad as MXF, where both Panasonic and Sony can have compliant implementations with the standard, but still be utterly incompatible with each other...

However, I think the more likely explanation was file corruption. By setting up an empty, new file, you thwarted it by taking the contents out of a bad container...even when you take the TIF and save as a PSD...that data can travel.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network