Free four clips at same time at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 25th, 2010, 10:31 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 345
Free four clips at same time

I have four clips all in four quadrants of the screen. I want to stop all of them at the same time and hold that frame for about 5 seconds. How can I do that?
Guy Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 09:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Have a look at FRAME HOLD.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 10:08 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
I assume you have all four shots stacked on four video tracks on your timeline, yes? The freeze point for all four must be in exactly the same place if you want all four to freeze simultaneously.

For each clip, go to the frame you want to freeze and razor the clip on the timeline. If they're already in perfect sync, you can just place the CTI over the frame you want to freeze on all four and choose Sequence > Razor All Tracks. Right-click the clip on each track to the right of the new cut and select "Frame Hold" and choose Hold On... In Point. Then drag this clip to the duration you want (or right-click it again and choose Speed/Duration and change the numbers to 5;00). Repeat three more times with the other three clips.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 09:07 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 345
Yes, I have four sinc'd clips of one person racing a bike. All four clips are shot from the same position and we are trying to show the rider which "line" is faster by freezing all clips at the same time. This will show the difference position at the same point in time.

So I want to be able to play the clips and at the point I want all clips to freeze and hold for an extended period of time.

So if I understand what you are saying. Just stretch all the clips out the duration I want. Cut all clips at the freeze point and set the Hold Frame to the In point of the trailing clips (behind the cut).

Does this sound correct?
Guy Godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 12:41 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Yes. Then you'll adjust the length of the frozen portion to whatever you want.

There are other ways to do it, but to me this is the simplest.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network