CS5 How to export as an AVI? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2010, 10:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
CS5 How to export as an AVI?

I have someone asking for a project to be in AVI format for broadcast. As far as I can see there is no option in premiere's export to do this.

Is there simply no option or am I missing something?

If it's not possible to do an export from the timeline, what would people suggest is a good encoding program, hopefully without having to spend money. What would be the best source format to use for the best quality encode?
Sam Tansey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2010, 11:58 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
What version of Premiere Pro do you have? What platform?

An AVI is no problem...at least for those of us on Windows...

Since "AVI" is only a wrapper like "QuickTime"...it kind of depends on what codecs are installed on your machine.

Did the requesting party specify a codec?
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 12:12 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
On a Mac, I assume they want h.264 although i don't really know. I have Perian and flip4mac installed but that doesn't appear to be the answer.
Sam Tansey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 02:12 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Hard to know exactly from the info you have given, but the phrase "AVI for broadcast" sounds like they want ordinary standard definition (720x480) NTSC (or PAL) DV .avi
Don't know what version of PPro you are using, but you should be able to export from your timeline and select NTSC (PAL) DV.avi, or Microsoft DV.avi for the output codec in AME. Make sure the settings are appropriate (par .9 for 4x3, 1.2 for widescreen, etc.).
I'm using a Windows pc, maybe something's different on a Mac setup, but DV.avi is a garden variety codec that I would expect to be universally available. Maybe on the Mac you are only allowed Apple's Quicktime .mov wrapper.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 04:09 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
If the file is intended for a broadcast server, those files are still predominantly MPEG2 transport streams...

Do you know what the intended use for the file will be?
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 06:37 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
It turns out its not for broadcast but for some kind of trade/arts exhibition/conference.

Anyhow, at this point in time I don't really care what the codec is. Just need to get it into avi somehow because thats what I have been asked for.

It seems a bit pointless really. It they are just playing it off a computer then I don't see why they cant use mp4

I tried re-encoding an mp4 via some freeware and the results were pretty unimpressive.
Sam Tansey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 07:25 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,123
Something is wrong CS5 has microsoft avi as one of the presets in the media encoder?
http://www.earsmedia.co.uk/avi.jpg
Here's a screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
CS5 How to export as an AVI?-avi.jpg  
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 07:37 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
The Adobe CS5 Media Encoder has more options than any freeware...

If it were me... I'd deliver a high quality H.264 and a high bitrate WMV, and if you really want to, you could even toss in a transport stream MPEG2 clip...

If the stuff started as HD and the client will have some sort of computer display, it'll give you some options for higher quality.

Often, I'll take Encore and make a standard DVD with an MPEG2 file (standard def) and put the higher res WMV and the H.264 in the "data" area so that a client can open a file on a computer...OR they can shove it in a run-of-the-mill DVD player.

...and when they call for assistance, all the options they need are already on their media and the worst you have to do is point them to it.

My .02
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 03:49 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul R Johnson View Post
Something is wrong CS5 has microsoft avi as one of the presets in the media encoder?
http://www.earsmedia.co.uk/avi.jpg
Here's a screenshot.
No that is correct. DV avi has always been LFF you cannot change that to upper or progressive.
Even in earlier versions of Premiere when you set it to upper or progressive you still wound up with a dv avi in LFF.

On a sidenote exporting HDV to DV-avi looks awful.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 06:03 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam Tansey View Post
It turns out its not for broadcast but for some kind of trade/arts exhibition/conference.

Anyhow, at this point in time I don't really care what the codec is. Just need to get it into avi somehow because thats what I have been asked for.

It seems a bit pointless really. It they are just playing it off a computer then I don't see why they cant use mp4

I tried re-encoding an mp4 via some freeware and the results were pretty unimpressive.
Sam
This seems almost ridiculous.
You clearly haven't been provided with enough information to comply with their request.
Either they know exactly what codec they want, in which case you need to pry it out of them, or they don't really know what they want, in which case it's your job to tell them what codec would work best on whatever display system they plan to use.
A farcical misunderstanding about the issue could lead to a real unhappy client, or at the least, a less than desirable display of your production.
I've learned the hard way not to leave public display issues to others if avoidable. If it looks like crap, you know who will be blamed- not the equipment, you can be sure :)
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 09:46 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
We are the client. A band I am involved with. The work being a music video that is going to be displayed. I understand why they are specifying formats as our video will be one amongst many and I imagine they will be putting them all together.

Ill follow it up a bit more, information is coming through, second or third hand, thanks for everyones help.
Sam Tansey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network