Apple 422 pro res to Windows CS5 transfer at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2010, 11:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 304
Apple 422 pro res to Windows CS5 transfer

I would like to export some 4:2:2 Apple pro res footage (about 6gb) from a Mac onto a Lacie Mac- formatted portable hard drive and then import that footage into Windows based CS5 premier pro to edit. My questions are:
1) Will I be able to import this footage straight into Windows CS5 PPro?
2) Can I use a Mac formatted portable drive to transfer between Mac and PC?
3) What is the best way to go with this?
Thanks
Chris Duczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 07:17 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 55
By the numbers:
1) Don't think so. Last I heard ProRes is a Mac-only format
2) I think so, but I've never tried it.
3) I believe the only way you can do this is to transcode to a Windows compatible format. Cineform or even uncompressed .avi depending upon how big the uncompressed files are.

There might be some tool that will do the conversion for you but I don't know of one since I've never been in this situation.
Richard Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2010, 10:17 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
1. ProRes can certainly be edited in Windows. Install the ProRes decoder first.
Apple ProRes QuickTime Decoder 1.0 for Windows

2. There is software that will let Windows read a Mac HFS disk. Mac Drive is one that comes to my mind. You can also try accessing the Mac over a network and see it that will work for you.
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2010, 12:06 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
IIRC the pro-res codec is built in to recent versions of Quicktime Windows, you can just open in Quicktime and export it as something else directly. Maybe, not sure, this is a feature of (paid version) Quicktime Pro, but I think it's included in the freeware as well...

(update) Actually, I just imported a Pro-res .mov file directly into PPro CS4 with no problem. I do have a late version of QT Pro installed, assuming that may be a factor.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2010, 08:04 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 304
Thanks for the tips everyone.
I also discovered Macdrive which is a conversion program for mac to PC - looks good.
Has anyone used it? Link below

MacDrive Mediafour
Chris Duczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 01:51 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 129
Yes, MacDrive works great. Been using it for years with no issues. No conversion taking place, it just allows the PC to read/write a Mac HFS formatted drive. HTH
Bill Heslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 04:00 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Yep...Mac Drive installed on the PC is very useful in getting a disk drive formatted so the Mac can bothe read and write to it, and the PC can as well.

ProRes works just fine in Premiere Pro on a Windows machine. I have a video on Adobe TV where I edit about a 90 minute timeline of ProRes 720p on a WXP laptop and export it directly to Encore where the final encode is done...no prob.

Just don't use those infernal orange bumpered LaCie drives as cross platform does not seem to be an option for those things, Mac Drive or not.


.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 04:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 304
Oh No...The orange bumpered lacie is exactly what I've bought - whats the problem there?
Chris Duczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 05:10 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
I haven't gotten one that a Windows machine could see...Mac Drive or not.

I don't know why, but I know I'm not alone on that.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2010, 06:30 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 304
Thanks Tim, I'll try something else
Chris Duczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 03:09 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Kolb View Post
I haven't gotten one that a Windows machine could see...Mac Drive or not.

I don't know why, but I know I'm not alone on that.
I have several of those disks and can read/write on Win and Mac. The very first time i connect the brand new Lacie Rugged disk is to format it in Windows to remove the pre-installed cheesy software. The disks are 320GB's and 500GB's.
__________________
/Roger
Roger Averdahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2010, 05:03 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 304
I think Tim means a pre-formatted for mac Lacie - which is what I've bought.
As the original download will be from Mac to be transferred to Windows I imagine I would need to start with Mac format, install Macdrive 8 on the PC with CS5, then upload to the PC.

Or...do you have a windows formatted Lacie with Macdrive on it???
Chris Duczynski is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network