Premiere 5.0.3 crashing with ntdll.dll module error at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2010, 12:43 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Premiere 5.0.3 crashing with ntdll.dll module error

Hello - I have just updated from Premiere 5.0.2 to 5.0.3 and also updated my Cineform Neo 4K plug-in to 5.2.5.288

The system previously fine is now quite unstable and crashes often when sliding along the timeline. The fauting module is ntdll.dll (see event viewer log below).

Any ideas on how to fix this?


Source: Application Error
Faulting application name: Adobe Premiere Pro.exe, version: 5.0.3.0, time stamp: 0x4ce382d1
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16559, time stamp: 0x4ba9b802
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000004d036
Faulting process id: 0xbf0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb995d6a5bd1b1
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 61842af5-0553-11e0-86c2-20cf303e62d1
Steve Pesenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 02:50 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Did you try uninstalling Cineform to see if the crash still occurs? If no crash then, contact Cineform. If it still crashes, make sure to file a bug report to Adobe.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2010, 07:35 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Thanks.

I have since rolled back Cineform to the previous version I was running (5.2.2.283), but am still getting this new instability problem with Premiere 5.0.3. I have now filed a ticket with Adobe support.
Steve Pesenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2010, 11:22 AM   #4
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Thanks Steve. Let us know how it goes with Tech Support.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2010, 09:38 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
I am having almost identical problem with the new update, whenever I click outside cs5, either to another window, desktop etc it instantly crashes, sometimes it just crashes anyway, seemingly just for fun. Editing is impossible... been down this road so many times in the past with adobe support. Ready to hang myself at this point or start using Windows Movie Maker.

I would occasionally get this with large projects before the upgrade, but even splitting a 22 min show into 3 timelines and editing one sequence at a time I can't get any edits done. I have tried deleting previews, reseting effects cache etc.

System is i7 960 clocked to 4Ghz - 12 GB Mem
O/S on 80 GB raid 0 array (drives - 2x intel x25 SSD's)
Cache on 160 GB raid 0 array (drives - 2x intel x25 SSD's)
Video card Nvidia FX4800

Project is 29 MB and has about 800 clips linked from (200mb/sec average w/r) raid 5 e-sata Array),

Here is the fault.

Faulting application name: Adobe Premiere Pro.exe, version: 5.0.3.0, time stamp: 0x4ce382d1
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16385, time stamp: 0x4a5be02b
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000004d256
Faulting process id: 0x2a20
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb9a7310a3dcc3
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 606f87e4-0667-11e0-8a91-e0cb4e0ff8b0
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2010, 05:13 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
OK so Adobe support replied with the view that the problem is a corrupt registry error and advising I contact Microsoft.

Before I do that does anyone have any advice on fixing registry issues? Is there a good registry cleaner or dll fixer I could use? Or would a simple uninstall and reinstall of Premiere do the trick?
Steve Pesenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2010, 06:07 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
I am trying a complete system rebuild right now with nothing other than CS5 and cineform, btw I was also getting crashes due to MSVCR90.dll errors. Some part of me thinks perhaps there is some hardware or drivers in my system that just don't jive well together. So many people report a good experience with CS5 and Cineform but I have been plagued with issues since the dawn of time. CS5 although much richer has been crashing far more that CS3 did. The bigger a project or more linked media, the worse the problem gets.
I will report back with if this is any better after the fresh build.
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2010, 10:26 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Similar issue: MSVCR90.dll

Hey guys,

Similar issue on my end. I am having a problem when working in Premiere CS5 which causes it to crash. Looking in my event viewer, I see the issue is the file MSVCR90.dll. I have included the text from this below, as well as the link. The entire project uses files Cineform AVI's. You're literally both the first that I've seen with a similar problem.
Been working on this for days, and finally did a system reinstall today. Will report back tomorrow to let you know if it made a difference.

SS


https://cid-b8b5a06569777398.office..../MSVCR%20Error



Log Name: Application

Source: Application Error

Description:
Faulting application name: Adobe Premiere Pro.exe, version: 5.0.2.0, time stamp: 0x4c731297
Faulting module name: MSVCR90.dll, version: 9.0.30729.4926, time stamp: 0x4a1750b0
Exception code: 0xc0000417
Fault offset: 0x0000000000054fc0
Faulting process id: 0xf18
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb94479d2ad0e5
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_08e1a05ba83fe554\MSV CR90.dll
Report Id: 15ce75e0-003d-11e0-b0a2-485b3914204f
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-12-05T06:58:38.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>6595</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Owner-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>Adobe Premiere Pro.exe</Data>
<Data>5.0.2.0</Data>
<Data>4c731297</Data>
<Data>MSVCR90.dll</Data>
<Data>9.0.30729.4926</Data>
<Data>4a1750b0</Data>
<Data>c0000417</Data>
<Data>0000000000054fc0</Data>
<Data>f18</Data>
<Data>01cb94479d2ad0e5</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Windows\WinSxS\amd64_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.4926_none_08e1a05ba83f e5 54\MSVCR90.dll</Data>
<Data>15ce75e0-003d-11e0-b0a2-485b3914204f</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2010, 10:34 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
Just wondering what mobo you guys are using. I know its a long shot but I can't help but supect that perhaps we have a driver thats causing issues with the crashing. I have an ASUS P6X58D Premium board and i7 960 CPU, with 12 GB RAM...been thinking about a trying a different board with all the issues.
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 06:44 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
After rebuilding the system completely Premier still crashes (ntdll.dll) with latest 5.0.3 update and Cineform build 288.

** C:\ drive formated and rebuilt to Windows 7 (64 bit)
** All windows updates installed
** Latest system drivers installed
** Latest Quicktime Installed
** No other software installed, firewall off

This is not encouraging, I am at a complete loss as to what would cause this?

--------------

Faulting application name: Adobe Premiere Pro.exe, version: 5.0.3.0, time stamp: 0x4ce382d1
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16559, time stamp: 0x4ba9b802
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000004d036
Faulting process id: 0x8a0
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb9ba3a6e6daf8
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5\Adobe Premiere Pro.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
Report Id: a5942b94-0797-11e0-9bf4-e0cb4e0ff8b0
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 10:02 AM   #11
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
I just reported this issue to the team.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore

Last edited by Kevin Monahan; December 14th, 2010 at 01:39 PM.
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 03:58 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Perry View Post
Just wondering what mobo you guys are using. I know its a long shot but I can't help but supect that perhaps we have a driver thats causing issues with the crashing. I have an ASUS P6X58D Premium board and i7 960 CPU, with 12 GB RAM...been thinking about a trying a different board with all the issues.
I have an ASUS motherboard too, but the model down P6X58D-E. Only thing I would say is the problem seems to be new, only appearing immediately since moving to Premiere 5.0.3. Things were fine before. Although it's also fair to say this PC set-up is only a month or so old and the current project I have is more stretching than ones I have had on this kit so far.

Kevin - Thanks for referring this issue. A more in-depth response from the Adobe team would be helpful.
Steve Pesenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 06:03 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 20
Make that three.

I have an Asus Rampage 2 Extreme, so that's all of us. But I agree with Steve - only has happened since 5.0.3, so I'm at a bit of a loss myself. That being said, it's been a while since I've updated the bios on my mobo, but from what I understand, it's not something that should be done at the drop of a hat. Going to test tonight and will report back. Finger's crossed!

Thanks for the diligence on this Kevin.

SS
Shmuley Shelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 07:18 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nashua NH
Posts: 278
I updated my Asus bios a few weeks ago now to the latest while trying to fix another issue. I doubt that will make any difference for you folks. I have gone back to 5.02 for now, I can edit now but it still crashes though not as often as 5.3. I need to finish 2 x half hour shows so in a bit of a fix and trying to remove any footage I don't need from the project. May end up making proxies just to get it done. I re-imported the sequence to a fresh project, tried desktop, tried cineform presets it's does not seem to make any difference with regards to the crash

By the way, during testing with 5.03 I had a bare bones system, the only connected devices were a USB keyboard. mouse, Shuttle Pro 2 controller and external 4 TB e-sata array, no additional cs5 plugins or software and it would crash anytime I clicked outside of the application. I also moved all my files to a different e-sata raid-0 array just in the off chance that was causing the issues but it did not help.

Thanks for looking into this Kevin.
Rich Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2010, 08:52 PM   #15
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
I put in a report about multiple people having the same issue this morning. Unfortunately, I got called away from my office this afternoon but I did see that I got a response. I've got that on my list for first thing tomorrow morning.

Just a post to let you know that we are looking at this issue.

Cheers all.
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network