External vs. Internal SATA at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 19th, 2010, 11:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Posts: 137
External vs. Internal SATA

Would I be correct in assuming that when using PP CS5 that adding an external enclosure with four hard drives connected via eSATA that the performance would be equal to adding the same four drives internally?
Tim Ribich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2010, 11:48 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Is your 4-bay external enclosure running as RAID-0 or RAID-5? Does it come with an controller part? Or it's just SATA port replicator?

If you want performance, you can get an external enclosure support RAID-0 with a dedicated RAID controller card.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network