How much Memory for Production Prem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 25th, 2010, 03:28 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pomona California
Posts: 49
How much Memory for Production Prem

Will be getting CS5 PP soon will be editing mostly AVCHD my PC in Intel i7 with 6gigs of memory video card is a Nvidia GTX 470 which I just picked up but can not get the drivers to load I may have to take it back. Using a 1TB system drive and two 1TB drivers set for raid 0 for media dirve. My question is, will 12 gigs of memory be ok? Should I add another hard drive?
Kenneth Maultsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2010, 06:15 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 44
I run the CS5 Production Premium and my computer has an i7 processor, 6GB DDR3 Ram, 1TB HDD & GTX460 card and it handles native AVCHD fine. I am however looking to add more HDD's to run my software & files off seperate drives, as well as adding more RAM.
Ollie James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2010, 08:37 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
For AVCHD memory is crucial. Upping it to 12 or 24 GB will make a noticeable difference. That does not mean you can get by with your current disk setup. It is borderline and you would profit from one or more extra disks, but in your case memory is more important than disks.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2010, 02:53 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pomona California
Posts: 49
What about ram speed

Does ram speed and type make much of a difference? 1066 1333 2000Mhz speed? And back to hard drives would this be a good setup?
One 1TB OS
One 1TB render files
Two 1TB raid 0 for media

OH Marry Christmas to All :)
Kenneth Maultsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2010, 03:50 PM   #5
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 85
I agree with Harm.

12GB seems to be the amount of RAM at which working with demanding formats (like AVCHD and RED) in After Effects and Premiere Pro simultaneously (as with Dynamic Link) becomes smooth and efficient. I have 24GB in my home computer for this purpose. I have 12GB in my work computer.
__________________
Todd Kopriva, Adobe Systems Incorporated
After Effects quality engineer
Todd Kopriva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2010, 12:33 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Kenneth,

Memory speed, especially for AVCHD material, is more important than the timings. DDR3-1600 is faster than DDR3-1333, even if the CL were lower, say 9 versus 7. However, it does require manual setup in the BIOS to use the rated speed. If you don't do that, your memory will only run at DDR3-1066 for the i7-920/930/950.

The disk setup you mention is a decent starting point. The first improvement would be to get a 320 GB Samsung F4 for OS & programs, instead of wasting a whole 1 TB disk for that and using a freed 1 TD disk for projects and export.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2010, 07:25 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 85
I have a 300GB 10k Hard drive and a 2 TB in the computer I just ordered. I also have a 2TB Graid. What would be the best place to put CS5, OS, video files. Thanks!
Marc Brackhahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 12:29 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
On your Velociraptor.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 01:47 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 85
Thanks Harm! Should I seperate them. I think the OS will be on the 10K. Should I put CS5 there also or put it on the internal 2tb and keep my projects on the G raid?
Marc Brackhahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 03:56 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
OS & Programs on the Velociraptor. Do not try to install programs, especially CS5 on another drive than the default one. CS5 and previoius versions are rather particular in that regard.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2010, 07:58 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 85
Thanks again Harm!
Marc Brackhahn is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network