Media cache files do I check the box at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 21st, 2011, 01:55 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pomona California
Posts: 49
Media cache files do I check the box

I am trying to optimize my system and under the preferences under media it is set to the default on the C: drive. Here is my setup I have a 1TB C:\ for OS and programs and four 1TB drives setup Raid 5 which is my D:\ drive and 24GB of Ram. If I understand correctly I should set my Media cache files and Media cache Database to the D:\ drive? If I check Save media files next to originals dose this do the same thing? Also with 24GB of ram what and where should I set my pagefile to?
Kenneth Maultsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2011, 02:55 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
I think you should definitely set both to your D drive. I couldn't figure out why my C drive was filling up until I found the huge media cache database and all the associated files. I would not necessarily check the "next to originals" box unless you want all these files stuffed into your project directory.

Harm and I had an interesting discussion about the pagefile a while ago and his feeling, if I recall correctly, is that you don't need a huge pagefile if you have that much RAM, and in fact you may want a smaller one to force Windows to use the physical RAM rather than the slower swapfile. But I may have misunderstood.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2011, 03:09 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Adam,

Memory management in PR CS5 has improved significantly and with 24 GB of RAM will not be used often. I would suggest as a maximum a 12 or 24 GB static file, but if it is rather unusual to have all AE, AI, EN, PR and PS open at the same time it could well be reduced to around 8 - 12 GB. If the OP uses the on-board IHCR controller, it may as well be on the C drive but with a dedicated controller better on the D drive.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2011, 01:30 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pomona California
Posts: 49
Thanks again.
Kenneth Maultsby is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network