Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 31st, 2011, 01:17 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh - Toronto
Posts: 22
Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

I have Production suite CS5 and I am working on video 2hr long. When I installed a program, it use to render in Adobe Media Encoder in real or less then real time, now is 2-3 longer!?
I have Dell Studio 8200 with four core i7 CPU 2.93 Ghz with 8 Gb of memory (6.5. dedicated to Premiere, Windows 7 home premium edition. Nvidida Geoforce GTX 260 graphic card. The resource Monitor shows a 100 % CPU usage during rendering in AME and "bigest" user is PProHeadless.exe with arround 60% and AME is in second place with30-40%.
Any sugestions how to speed up process again?
Radomir Charapich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 10:49 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

"When I installed a program, it use to render in Adobe Media Encoder in real or less then real time, now is 2-3 longer!?"

What software was installed prior to slowdown?
Are you hitting the return button for rendering on the PPro timeline, or is this a render out of AME, without any pre rendering from PPro?
If you render via Premiere Pro, and export via AME, make sure the "Use preview files" option is checked upon export.
Also, try going to the preferences and using this setting....
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2011, 10:04 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radomir Charapich View Post
Any sugestions how to speed up process again?
Uninstall CS5 and install latest Vegas Pro :)
no, I am serious, I was thinking go Adobe, cuz i like image control options in PP, and I got tired of constant Vegas crashes caused by DSLR footage ( that was before 10d), so I got a very nice PC - i7 980, 24Gb, 2 X Revo SSD RAID0, Quadro FX 4800, editing with PP is pretty fast on this box, (Vegas is still much faster) but when i wanted to render 1Hr 20 min project with some heavy color correction it took 10,5 hrs, Vegas Pro renders roughly the same projects, on the same PC, to the same format in less than 2 Hrs;
I think I'm done with PP, but FCP X is coming very soon :)
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2011, 07:49 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh - Toronto
Posts: 22
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Thanks Peter and Buba, I will try your suggestions. Buba, I will stick with PPro for now, I have old (ver 6) Vegas, but it was a bundle with something else, I should buy full version.
Radomir Charapich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2011, 08:13 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh - Toronto
Posts: 22
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Sorry Peter I did not answer your question: I am rendering everything in PPro before AME, on the way that you described. I made changes as you suggested, I will keep you updated, I just finish 3 hours project ( some concert) in Toronto, after rendering I will post a results. Thanks again
Radomir Charapich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2011, 09:09 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rochester, NH
Posts: 24
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Hard Drives too full or using Encore w/o the Premiere Pro CS 5 dynamic linked project open.
Greg Gerber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2011, 11:01 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh - Toronto
Posts: 22
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Greg, Hard Drive is not even 1/4 full, second part I am not sure what should be. After I changed settings as Peter suggested, rendering is much faster.
Other problem that I have is PPro is taking too much time to load a project. Project is massive, close to 100 Gb of media. I captured media to my external drive ( USB 3.0 connection), but when I open a project, PPro asking me where is media?! Strange!
Radomir Charapich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 03:52 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Hey Radomir....

Do you have "enable mercury playback" option under the "General" tab of your project settings checked?

Just a shot in the dark here...
Try right clicking over PPro icon, and Run as administrator...

If that doesn't work, i'd definately try uninstalling, and reinstalling both Windows and CS5.5.
Don't forget, there's a proper way to uninstall CS products. You need to deactivate first.

Also, sometimes Windows updates have been known to effect performance..
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 08:36 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh - Toronto
Posts: 22
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Txs Peter, i found that I have lock on my user name on PC ( I am trying to find out what is it?!). Bridge is finding my projects in pat : local disc/user/my name/my documents/adobe/premiere pro/5.0 and in the same time I can't see it from explorer, Weird? I don't know why Windows is setting lock on my user name, I tried to change this but did not succeed. It seems that I have two sets of my documents and one that I described is not visible! Strange.
Radomir Charapich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 10:56 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

Do you have the settings like this?
Go to explorer, tools, Folder options, and use these settings....
Attached Thumbnails
Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?-explorer-settings.jpg  
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 11:09 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pittsburgh - Toronto
Posts: 22
Re: Rendering time in Premiere Pro CS 5 doubled?

It worked! Thanks Peter!
Radomir Charapich is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network