DV avi export issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 22nd, 2005, 02:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
DV avi export issues

Hey guys, do search on this and didn't really come up with what I was looking for. I am using 24p, 16x9 footage shot with my XL-2 in Premiere Pro 1.5. My issue is after I render out a my avi and play it the image bounces. All the settings are correct, 720x480, 16x9, 24.976 frame rate. Is there something I am missing? Does something need to be checked, unchecked?
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2005, 01:55 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Clint,
Not sure what you mean by "the image bounces." Can you either describe in more detail what's happening, or post a short clip, and also some more information on your rendered AVI settings? (Also, presume that you typo'd and meant "23.976" rather than "24.976" for the frame rate?)
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2005, 11:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Yes 23.976 and by bounces I mean that it litterly bounces up and down. or the bottom and top keep moving up and down. As for settings I don't really mess with the setting too much. just make sure that its the right frame rate, aspect ratio, that sort of thing.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2005, 01:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Taipei, Taiwan
Posts: 212
It sounds like a field order problem but I am not sure how it should be set for 23.976.

Anybody else ?
Benjamin Durin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2005, 06:35 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Hmmm, not much info to go on. Two guesses:

1. Windows Media Player does not handle 24pA exported AVI's properly. See the clips at my web site (http://www.geosynchrony.com/scratchpad.htm) and scroll down to the section titled 24p Advanced Anomaly in Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5.

2. Perhaps the wrong 24p project or export settings (24p vs 24pA)?
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2005, 01:05 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Bauer
Hmmm, not much info to go on. Two guesses:

1. Windows Media Player does not handle 24pA exported AVI's properly. See the clips at my web site (http://www.geosynchrony.com/scratchpad.htm) and scroll down to the section titled 24p Advanced Anomaly in Adobe Premiere Pro 1.5.

2. Perhaps the wrong 24p project or export settings (24p vs 24pA)?

your footage looks similar to mine but I didn't shoot in 24pA mode. Still haven't solved this one. I wish I had more time to play with it. But I have about 3 other problems at the same time.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 12:48 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
I had to deinterlace the footage for some reason. But once I did everything was fine.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 02:13 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 493
Clint,

Oh, you didn't deinterlace in Premiere, did you? The quality of Premiere's deinterlace is quite possibly the worst of any method available. You should be seeing a rather obvious drop in quality. You should never have to deinterlace 24p footage. Some other project property or export setting must have been set wrong. Just because it fixed the problem, doesn't mean it's the way to go.

Josh
__________________
Owner/Operator, 727 Records
Co-Founder, Matter of Chance Productions
Blogger, Try Avoidance
Joshua Provost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 03:07 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
I agree with that, but it was the only thing that seemed to solve it. I ran 10 test renders and it was the only one that didn't bounce like that.
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 05:35 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
You could try changing the 24p Pull-Up method. To do this, go to Project>Project Settings, under General click Playback Settings, and then under 24p Pull-Up Method choose whichever is the opposite of the one currently selected. In mine the default is "Interlaced Frame (2:3:3:2), and the other choice is "Repeat Frame (ABBCD).
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2006, 07:07 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 142
I noticed the same effect when exporting 24P footage from Premiere. I don't have a 24P-enabled camcorder, but I composite 24fps animations elements in After Effects, and output as 24P DV-AVI to edit in Premiere.
__________________
JF Robichaud
Jean-Francois Robichaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2006, 10:12 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 67
I had this similar problem but when I imported the footage as an asset in Encore it simply went away.
Alec Lence is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network