Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 9th, 2011, 12:15 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

Can Prores files be exported from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC? The Prores codec is installed on the MAC.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2011, 03:22 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

Yes, we do it routinely.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2011, 01:04 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

Yes. As I type this I have ProRes 422 files queued in Media Encoder.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2011, 05:01 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

ProRes encode is not installed unless you have FCP installed.

You can play back ProRes on Mac/Windows, but not "write".

Or...you can get a KiPro and an SDI card and record the ProRes file off-board.
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2011, 05:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 388
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

I just downloaded the ProRes codecs and installed them and no issues using Premiere, After Effects, or just ripping files around with Media Encoder.

I export to and from prores all the time as it is my preferred editing codec when I have time to transcode.
Justin Molush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2011, 09:37 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

Does this mean I can place, say, native 5DII and XDCAM files in a Prores timeline, rendering everything in Prores along the way (ie: prior to export)?

Sorry if this question sounds naive, all my timelines in FCP have been Prores by default for so long now I've become reliant on it, but I'm another person looking to jump ship.

Being able to render footage from all different sources in a 10 bit 422 colourspace was one of the features that made FCP attractive to me. If I can't do this with Prores in Premiere, what is the alternative, buy Cineform?
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2011, 10:46 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dayton, TN (USA)
Posts: 219
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

Cineform is an alternative to ProRes, yes. However, since PrPro can edit completely natively with just about every format out there, there really is no need to go to an intermediary. Just because you've got a 10 bit 4:2:2 file doesn't necessarily mean that all that info is there. In fact, trying to take, say, an 8 bit 4:2:0 file to 10 bit 4:2:2 can lead to some nasty results as the encoders try to come up with the missing information. Staying native until your final export will ALWAYS give you the best results. The ONLY way you'd benefit from a 10 bit 4:2:2 or 4:4:4 file is if you initially shot your footage that way (or you were bringing it in from film stock). And even then, the original file you shot (or captured) would be better than transcoding to ProRes or Cineform.

There are speed boosts available for rendering by using Cineform if you've got the associated third party hardware to go along with it, but if you've got a strong machine and Hardware enabled MPE and CUDA, then PrPro really does just about as well as any of them anyway and you'll probably lose any time gained in your transcode.
__________________
David Beisner
Media Specialist, Bryan College, Dayton, TN -- www.bryan.edu
David Beisner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2011, 02:22 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Export Prores file from Premiere Pro CS5 on a MAC

Yes, edit natively as long as you can. However choosing a good render codec for a sequence is also important, both for performance (encoding/decoding is not accelerated by CUDA), and quality (adding another layer of compression might not be the best way to preview your footage).

Therefore personally I always try to go for 8-bit or 10-bit (if there's a lot of color correction involved) uncompressed. Final master is either ProRes (Mac) or Cineform (PC).
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network