Separating audio tracks at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2011, 12:11 PM   #1
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Separating audio tracks

I've just been switching to PP5.5 from FCP. The only snag so far has to do with audio tracks. If I have a clip with audio on 2 channels, I drop it into the timeline and Channel 1 will be active but Channel 2 is grayed down and won't let me adjust volume. Sometimes I may want to drop Ch. 1 down and use Ch. 2, and I haven't been able to figure that one out. Any suggestions?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2011, 12:39 PM   #2
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Re: Separating audio tracks

Audio clips don't always go where you intend them to. The reason may have something to do with the difference between mono, stereo, and 5.1 surround audio tracks, as you'll see in this video.

http://www.video2brain.com/en/videos-4009.htm
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2011, 01:59 PM   #3
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Re: Separating audio tracks

Thanks. I found a tutorial before you put that link up. It's best to go to preferences and tell it to import the audio as mono, except for music...then go back and switch back to stereo for music. Also, you can select the clip in the browser and go up and turn it to mono so both tracks are controllable, but you can't do that when the clip is already in the timeline. I'd say that FCP has the edge in dealing with audio, but this is manageable, though a little awkward.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2011, 03:19 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 425
Re: Separating audio tracks

You can change it in preferences so it does it automatically on import. I always have different audio sources on each channel and it's a lot easier that way. I would imagine it would be a little annoying the other way.
Rob Morse is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network