CS3: where did my audio go? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 29th, 2011, 06:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 110
CS3: where did my audio go?

I had a project completed edited and working fine. Output for web no problem. Came back days later to output to DVD and all the audio tracks play nothing! If I add a new clip to the sequence it will play the audio, but everything I have previously edited does not show?

Only plug in i have is Magic Bullet Quick Looks.

any ideas?
Paul Elertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 08:40 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: CS3: where did my audio go?

I hope you were on 3.2.0, because if not you might have fallen victim to some nasty bugs in version 3.0.0 that corrupt your project and do strange things with it.

If you were, I suggest turning on and off the audio tracks with the speaker icon, and seeing if it works.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2011, 01:40 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Re: CS3: where did my audio go?

Hi Paul,

When you import clips into Premiere, the audio is automatically converted to another format is the background, called "Conforming". These new files are what is then actually played in the project. Seems like the linkage to these files got corrupted.

The files are saved in the "Media Cache" folder, which is typically found in the same area as your Premiere Project file. You can delete or rename this folder, then launch your project and the folder will be recreated, and the audio re-conformed again.

You may want to check into cleaning the Media Cache Database, info here:

Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 & CS5.5 * Move or clean the Media Cache Database

I recently cleaned mine, and removed about 90GB of material from the C: drive that I didn't know was there!!

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is online now   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network