Raid 0 ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 5th, 2011, 09:24 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
Raid 0 ?

I have i7 machine with 8gb ram.
Tomorrow I will be getting the GTX 570 and and additional 8 GB.
I was thinking of adding a 4T raid 0 to the computer but was not sure if it will make much of a different.
I am currently using Sony Vegas and I am not sure what to expect from CS5 as far as hardware.
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2011, 11:01 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Raid 0 ?

What kind of source footage are you working with?
What's your workflow?
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 5th, 2011, 11:43 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: Raid 0 ?

Before you can decide if RAID0 would be helpful you need to determine exactly where your bottlenecks are.

If you are working with a compressed format such as MPEG or H.264 a RAID0 setup has no real value.

If you are working with uncompressed video then its an absolute requirement (unless you go to a proxy workflow).

Your average desktop hard drive can easily serve several streams of MPEG or H.264 without choking.

Windows has a performance monitor that will help you determine where your bottlenecks are located. Unless you are using very high bitrate video your drives won't be the bottleneck.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2011, 04:29 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Posts: 331
Re: Raid 0 ?

Thank you for taking the time.
Here is a link from Adobe TV that talks about raid and SSD
Maximizing CS5.5 Performance With Intel Xeon Processors - Maximizing Performance with Intel Solid State Drives | Adobe TV
__________________
www.nostalgicFrames.com
Dror Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2011, 05:18 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Raid 0 ?

Hey Dror...

You'll find that most people use SSD's for their OS system at the current time..
When things improve, you might see a shift away from hard disks. But there's no mass migration yet.

But for the most part, people requiring Raid 0 are still using hard drives.
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network