Premiere CS5 an unkown error occured while opening project at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 28th, 2011, 12:49 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 55
Premiere CS5 an unkown error occured while opening project

I've been working on a multi-cam sequence project in Premiere CS5. Last night there were a ton of issues with it requiring to be rendered in order to playback, even though previously it didnt require any rendering.
Today, I tried to open the project and it just won't open. I keep getting "an unkown error occured while opening project".
I have a lot of time invested in the project so far, and I dont want to start over.
Is there a way to recover the project?

I'm on Windows 7, Premiere CS5 5.03
Gerald Labrador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2011, 01:07 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Premiere CS5 an unknown error occurred while opening project

Try creating a new project and importing the old project into it. If that doesn't work, try going to your Auto-Save location and opening one of your auto-saves, working backwards.

The rendering issues are likely unrelated. They're common, are likely related to audio, and have been discussed before.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2011, 02:45 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 55
Re: Premiere CS5 an unkown error occured while opening project

Adam, thanks.

I tried importing the project and I get 2 choices.
Import entire project - results in error.
Import selected sequences - results in a progress bar loading that never loads all the way. The progress bar has been halfway for about 2 hours.

I have Auto Save off because I always thought I could not go back to an edit if I chose to undo something but it was autosaved.

I might have to start from scratch.
Gerald Labrador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2011, 01:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Premiere CS5 an unkown error occured while opening project

If you have access to somebody with a different platform version of Premiere, try opening it there (PC if done one Mac, and vice versa). This sometimes fixed our problems. If you don't have anybody, pm me, I might be able to help you tomorrow.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2011, 01:49 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Re: Premiere CS5 an unknown error occurred while opening project

Ooh, too bad about the autosave. It has autosaved my bacon many times. Turn it on and trust it. It will never hurt your ability to undo an edit.

This probably isn't it but it is possible you have a corrupt media cache database or rendered file somewhere.

Try this:

Open your new project and go to Project Settings. In one of the windows will be settings pertaining to media cache and media cache database locations. Change the locations (they shouldn't be on your C: drive anyway, which is where they default to. Premiere should ask you whether you want to move them or delete them. Choose delete.

If this doesn't help, try going to the folder where you have your corrupt project located and try deleting the sub-folder where you have your rendered files located. This will force it to re-render all the rendered files. When you try to open the project it will ask where a bunch of rendered files are; tell it to skip all.

This might work.

Also, try holding down the SHIFT key when you start Premiere until it asks you which project you want to open; this forces it to re-register all the plug-ins.
__________________
"It can only be attributable to human error... This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error."

Last edited by Adam Gold; September 28th, 2011 at 06:26 PM.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network