Encore wants to encode my .M2V files at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 3rd, 2011, 04:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Hi there...

Before I had to do a clean install on my system, I was able to export an M2V from Premiere to Encore without Encore having to transcode after import. We'll use the following specs as an example:

NTSC 1440x1080i
29.97 fps
Quality: 5
Field: Upper
Bitrate: CBR/20
GOP: 2/8

Now, after the clean install, Encore is wanting to transcode the M2V files, no matter what settings I use.

Any ideas?

Thanks - Martin
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 04:43 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Set vbr to 1 pass on export see if that helps.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 04:50 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Hi Ann
I appreciate your help, however that does not work. I'm at a loss! :(
Martin
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 10:23 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Any possiblity that your clean install removed a codec that you might have had previously?
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2011, 10:32 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

It wasn't a codec that was missing. About an hour ago I started fiddling with the Encore transcode presets. I'm not sure what I did, but now though it still says it needs to encode, when I build the DVD/image, it doesn't actually encode. Whereas before, I would have to wait for the M2V to encode. Not sure what I did but it's working for now! Thanks for the suggestions.
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 03:55 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

DVD allows up to 9 MBps for a file, both audio and video. 20 Mbps is too much, and this is the reason.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 12:06 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Posts: 104
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

I bet you a buck that you have your project preference set for Blu-ray. Flip it to DVD.
__________________
Wesley Cardone
www.WCardoneProductions.com, Detroit and Lansing, Michigan
Wesley Cardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 12:43 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Hi there. I am building Blu-Rays. Made sure the project settings are Blu-Ray, and that format/output reflect that. Thanks for the input.
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 01:29 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Try H.264 BluRay and is by the way a better codec.
And do not use Match Sequence Settings or Use Preview Files.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 01:59 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Encore has an unfortunate habit of wanting to re-encode Blu-ray compatible .m2v files. As Ann says, use .264 files instead.
Alan Craven is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 4th, 2011, 02:00 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: Encore wants to encode my .M2V files

Thanks guys, I'll try that! It will be worth a try just because of the quality issue. Cheers.
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network