Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 12th, 2011, 03:44 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

I recently purchased PP having decided to switch from FCP (not happy about FCP X).

After learning how to set up sequences for BM Intensity I have learned that the Intensity card doesn't handle Canon DSLR footage natively- It just plays for a few seconds and stops. Sometimes it crashes too. Does anyone else have a different experience?

On the other hand the ATI x1900xt card in the MacPro handles Canon DSLR footage natively pretty well. It's not as solid as BM intensity in FCP 7 using ProRes but it's doable. It just doesn't scrub very well but that's understandable considering the h.264 source footage.

So far my testing has also revealed that BM intensity does seem to handle AVC intra 50/100 very well in PP.

What I'm getting at is that I would really like to keep on using the BM intensity as opposed to the x1900xt for monitoring.

What has been your experience with Black Magic and Premiere CS5?
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2011, 04:27 PM   #2
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Re: Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

May not be related to the BMD card. Try the solutions in this KB article and report back: Playback stops or loops after few seconds or frames | Soundbooth, Adobe Premiere Pro | CS5, CS5.5 | Mac OS 10.6.x
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2011, 06:25 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Re: Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

Thanks for the reply Kevin,

Performed the procedure... No change.

I should also mention that the Black Magic sequence does have a red bar which indicates it shouldn't play smoothly- thus PP is functioning correctly- just doesn't play nice with BM.

But it still begs the question...

Should PP be able to output full res 1080p DSLR footage out of an Intensity card?

Is it a matter of processor speed? I'm using a 2007 clovertown 8 core 3.0 GHz MacPro with 8GB ram.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2011, 12:43 PM   #4
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 191
Re: Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

Are you working with a BMD Intensity sequence preset?
Have you installed the most current drivers? Blackmagic Design: Support
Have you contacted BMD support? Blackmagic Design: Company
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2011, 01:11 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Re: Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

Yes, working with BM preset.
Yes, latest drivers.
I have not contacted BM tech support just because I wasn't sure if this capability was even within it's specs.

Really just curious to see if others have a similar or different experience editing DSLR footage with Black Magic Intensity.

I'll see what tech support has to say about it and report back.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2011, 10:26 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

Intensity only supports 1080i and 720p footage playback - perhaps this might be the problem.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2011, 02:06 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
Re: Black Magic Intensity, Premiere CS5, MacPro comments

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart Walczak View Post
Intensity only supports 1080i and 720p footage playback - perhaps this might be the problem.
Intensity supports all the way up to 1080p30...

Blackmagic Design: Intensity Tech Specs

I've been working with 1080p24 using Intensity on FCP flawlessly for years now.

After some further research on the subject I have found others to have more success with Black Magic products and Premiere after upgrading to Lion.

Still waiting to hear back from BM tech support but I imagine they will suggest the Lion route.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network