Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2011, 08:29 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5

The program sounds great. In reality it aligns the multi tracks sometimes and sometimes leaves the sequences the original way. The only consistent is that Plural Eyes stretches the video which is a strange occurrence. Singular doesn't want to reply to my concerns. Has anyone else had these problems and found a solution?
Greg Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2011, 09:05 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
re: Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5

I work with premiere cs5 and edius pro 5.5, unfortunately plural eyes only works with edius 6 so I tried the trial for premiere. Actually Plural eyes made a big mess from a simple timeline, I just had one track of several videorecordings and an equal amount of zoom h1 recordings (also one track)
I placed all the clips the way the were recorded hoping PE could sync them up easily but maybe 20% got synced up. I also found the workflow quite a hassle as you had to ex- and import. Maybe when I upgrade to edius 6 I will try the trial again, hopefully it works better and without the use of exporting, otherwise I"m better off syncing manually.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2011, 08:43 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 15
Re: Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Clark View Post
Singular doesn't want to reply to my concerns.
Greg, we did reply to your support request and asked for some specific information so that we could investigate the problem. Did you get that message?

PluralEyes is widely used with CS5.5 and we are not aware of anything that would cause a stretching problem. So we need to know more about your project to track down the cause.

Bruce
Singular Software
Bruce Sharpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2011, 02:21 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chelsea, Michigan
Posts: 104
Re: Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5

The stretching is an anomaly I have learned to live with. ALL synced footage has to manually unstretched. I thought for sure Singular knew about that. It seems to me I read about it somewhere.

Sometimes PluralEyes works great and other times it is a waste of time. Where it works best for my applications (and earns its keep) is for syncing footage where the audio is only different because it comes from different microphones. For example, footage taken by multiple cameras at a wedding reception is an example of where PluralEyes earns its keep and I would buy it again for.

Where it is problematic is with wedding ceremony footage where I run somewhat different audio into the various camera inputs. The musicians might get the left channel of one camera, the officiant the right channel of another, and so on. It just does not work in my case for this type of footage.

A larger issue, though, is that the last couple of releases don't work at all in CS5.5. I am only able to use the original release that I bought last spring. All subsequent releases refuse to invoke to completion. I read in the Singular forum or faq about checking the NET software but mine is in agreement with whtat they require so that is not the problem.

I figure it only cost $150 so you should expect to get what you paid for. It works well enough for me.
__________________
Wesley Cardone
www.WCardoneProductions.com, Detroit and Lansing, Michigan
Wesley Cardone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2011, 06:09 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
Re: Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5

Wes I have sent log files etc. to Singular and they have replied that they are looking into my concern with stretching and other abnormalities with CS5.5. I will keep you informed to what they suggest. Bottom line is this program has the potential to saving time if it works with Premiere.
Greg Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2011, 07:26 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 339
Re: Plural Eyes doesn't work with Windows CS5.5

Copied and pasted:

"The stretching is an anomaly I have learned to live with. ALL synced footage has to manually unstretched."

I manually sync footage all the time and this concept is new to me.

How do I manually "unstretch" synced footage and why is this necessary in your view?

How is visual quality impacted?
Bruce Pelley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network