Problems with Exporting at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 13th, 2011, 09:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
Problems with Exporting

I am getting problems of crashing when trying to Export when using Premiere CS5's Export Settings. I wonder if deleting the preferences would help ? How do I reset the preferences in Adobe Premiere CS5 ?
__________________
Premiere CS5, EX1, 2xFX1,SonyA1,GlideTrack.
Mike Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Problems with Exporting

You hold down the shift key while starting Premiere, but I don't think this would help.

Do you get the crashes at exactly the same time while exporting? If so, then perhaps there is a problem with a certain clip, you can try disabling it - see if it helps. Can you render the timeline first without problems, or do you also get crashes while rendering?

What export settings do you use?

How much memory do you have? Premiere Pro is very hungry for RAM. How about your drives configuration?

Also, do you use any 3rd party monitoring hardware (BlackMagic, AJA, Matrox)?

Sorry about so many questions, but these are more likely the culprits, than PPro preferences.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2011, 10:29 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 161
Re: Problems with Exporting

Hi Bart,

Thanks for your thoughtful reply. I have no problem when working on the timeline or while rendering. It's when I click on Export after adjusting the Export Settings options. It seems to happen whatever I am exporting be it MP4 to .Mov, HD to HD, or HD to SD. I have plenty of RAM and the crashes have only just started to happen. I am thinking of a System Restore if, as you suspect, a simple trashing of prefs will have little effect.
__________________
Premiere CS5, EX1, 2xFX1,SonyA1,GlideTrack.
Mike Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2011, 02:25 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Problems with Exporting

Weird. If you click "queue", do you also get crashes, when Adobe Media Encoder handles the encoding?

You can trash the preferences, it's much less painful than with FCP. If it doesn't work I would suggest reinstalling the suite with the "repair" option instead of system restore though. It looks like some file might have been accidentally deleted or corrupted. Also, run a check disk on your system drive, to make sure that there are no problems with the drive itself.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network